Unofficial Update Documentation Manual

free scripts, plugins, models, textures
User avatar
clintonman
Captain
Posts: 5432
Joined: 21 May 2009, 21:08
Type the number ten into the box: 0
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Unofficial Update Documentation Manual

Post by clintonman »

trueBlue wrote: 05 Jul 2023, 00:49
clintonman wrote: 04 Jul 2023, 23:49 Note: When object has been dimension-ed it cannot be point edited. add to dimension page
Should I remove the Obj NAV / Enter edit mode / Uneditable script?
Uneditable script.png
.
If I do, and you PE the object, the Dimensions are not correct
If you set Mesh Editor Settings, Auto triangulation to None and only change the shape without adding or removing any geometry the dimension can be updated by pressing the Regenerate All in the Dimensions, Utilties aspect and the dimension will update.

If you remove the script then I'm guessing the red toolbar Uneditable scripts won't work. I was thinking a warning or question would work instead of stopping it.
Clinton Reese

http://clintons3d.com
User avatar
trueBlue
Captain
Posts: 5216
Joined: 06 Jul 2009, 22:50
Type the number ten into the box: 10

Re: Unofficial Update Documentation Manual

Post by trueBlue »

clintonman wrote: 05 Jul 2023, 02:11
trueBlue wrote: 05 Jul 2023, 00:49
clintonman wrote: 04 Jul 2023, 23:49 Note: When object has been dimension-ed it cannot be point edited. add to dimension page
Should I remove the Obj NAV / Enter edit mode / Uneditable script?
Uneditable script.png
.
If I do, and you PE the object, the Dimensions are not correct
If you set Mesh Editor Settings, Auto triangulation to None and only change the shape without adding or removing any geometry the dimension can be updated by pressing the Regenerate All in the Dimensions, Utilties aspect and the dimension will update.

If you remove the script then I'm guessing the red toolbar Uneditable scripts won't work. I was thinking a warning or question would work instead of stopping it.
Not sure how to write that or what to do if you answer Yes
I could put a status message and open the Dimensions panel
User avatar
clintonman
Captain
Posts: 5432
Joined: 21 May 2009, 21:08
Type the number ten into the box: 0
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Unofficial Update Documentation Manual

Post by clintonman »

trueBlue wrote: 05 Jul 2023, 02:43
clintonman wrote: 05 Jul 2023, 02:11
trueBlue wrote: 05 Jul 2023, 00:49
Should I remove the Obj NAV / Enter edit mode / Uneditable script?
Uneditable script.png
.
If I do, and you PE the object, the Dimensions are not correct
If you set Mesh Editor Settings, Auto triangulation to None and only change the shape without adding or removing any geometry the dimension can be updated by pressing the Regenerate All in the Dimensions, Utilties aspect and the dimension will update.

If you remove the script then I'm guessing the red toolbar Uneditable scripts won't work. I was thinking a warning or question would work instead of stopping it.
Not sure how to write that or what to do if you answer Yes
I could put a status message and open the Dimensions panel
When you add a dimension, the mesh object gets a "MeasureNode". So for your Uneditable widget script I would do something like this.

Widgets/Select/Default object navigation widget/Enter edit mode/Uneditable

Code: Select all

	//if(Node.Exists(Node.FirstSelected() + '/MeasureNode')) {
	//	params.SetTerminationFlag()
	//	return
	//}
	if(Node.Exists(Node.FirstSelected() + '/MeasureNode')) {
		if(!System.Question("This object has a Dimension. If you point edit this item the dimension may be damaged. Proceed anyway?")) {
			params.SetTerminationFlag()
		}
		return;
	}
You could also add more text. Something like
"This object has a Dimension assigned to it. To edit a dimensioned object you must set the Mesh Editor Settings to 'None' and do not add or remove any geometry from the mesh. If you point edit this item the dimension may be damaged. Proceed anyway?"
Clinton Reese

http://clintons3d.com
User avatar
trueBlue
Captain
Posts: 5216
Joined: 06 Jul 2009, 22:50
Type the number ten into the box: 10

Re: Unofficial Update Documentation Manual

Post by trueBlue »

clintonman wrote: 05 Jul 2023, 03:09
trueBlue wrote: 05 Jul 2023, 02:43
clintonman wrote: 05 Jul 2023, 02:11

If you set Mesh Editor Settings, Auto triangulation to None and only change the shape without adding or removing any geometry the dimension can be updated by pressing the Regenerate All in the Dimensions, Utilties aspect and the dimension will update.

If you remove the script then I'm guessing the red toolbar Uneditable scripts won't work. I was thinking a warning or question would work instead of stopping it.
Not sure how to write that or what to do if you answer Yes
I could put a status message and open the Dimensions panel
When you add a dimension, the mesh object gets a "MeasureNode". So for your Uneditable widget script I would do something like this.

Widgets/Select/Default object navigation widget/Enter edit mode/Uneditable

Code: Select all

	//if(Node.Exists(Node.FirstSelected() + '/MeasureNode')) {
	//	params.SetTerminationFlag()
	//	return
	//}
	if(Node.Exists(Node.FirstSelected() + '/MeasureNode')) {
		if(!System.Question("This object has a Dimension. If you point edit this item the dimension may be damaged. Proceed anyway?")) {
			params.SetTerminationFlag()
		}
		return;
	}
You could also add more text. Something like
"This object has a Dimension assigned to it. To edit a dimensioned object you must set the Mesh Editor Settings to 'None' and do not add or remove any geometry from the mesh. If you point edit this item the dimension may be damaged. Proceed anyway?"
Thanks, I will add something like this because I do not understand setting Mesh Editor Settings to 'None'
Uneditable.png
.
Looks like this script only takes into account the first selected!
Is there any way to update this script to include multiple selected items?
User avatar
clintonman
Captain
Posts: 5432
Joined: 21 May 2009, 21:08
Type the number ten into the box: 0
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Unofficial Update Documentation Manual

Post by clintonman »

trueBlue wrote: 05 Jul 2023, 12:35
clintonman wrote: 05 Jul 2023, 03:09
trueBlue wrote: 05 Jul 2023, 02:43
Not sure how to write that or what to do if you answer Yes
I could put a status message and open the Dimensions panel
When you add a dimension, the mesh object gets a "MeasureNode". So for your Uneditable widget script I would do something like this.

Widgets/Select/Default object navigation widget/Enter edit mode/Uneditable

Code: Select all

	//if(Node.Exists(Node.FirstSelected() + '/MeasureNode')) {
	//	params.SetTerminationFlag()
	//	return
	//}
	if(Node.Exists(Node.FirstSelected() + '/MeasureNode')) {
		if(!System.Question("This object has a Dimension. If you point edit this item the dimension may be damaged. Proceed anyway?")) {
			params.SetTerminationFlag()
		}
		return;
	}
You could also add more text. Something like
"This object has a Dimension assigned to it. To edit a dimensioned object you must set the Mesh Editor Settings to 'None' and do not add or remove any geometry from the mesh. If you point edit this item the dimension may be damaged. Proceed anyway?"
Thanks, I will add something like this because I do not understand setting Mesh Editor Settings to 'None'
Uneditable.png
.
Looks like this script only takes into account the first selected!
Is there any way to update this script to include multiple selected items?
AutoTri_None.jpg
AutoTri_None.jpg (44.67 KiB) Viewed 578 times
Panel appears when you enter point edit mode and you know what, I may be wrong about setting it. The changing triangles may not effect the point indices. I'll test that.
I'll have to get back to you on the multiple selections. Should be doable.
Clinton Reese

http://clintons3d.com
User avatar
clintonman
Captain
Posts: 5432
Joined: 21 May 2009, 21:08
Type the number ten into the box: 0
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Unofficial Update Documentation Manual

Post by clintonman »

Here is the multiple selections change
Widgets/Select/Default object navigation widget/Enter edit mode/Uneditable
Attachments
Uneditable.RsObj
(12.19 KiB) Downloaded 48 times
Clinton Reese

http://clintons3d.com
User avatar
clintonman
Captain
Posts: 5432
Joined: 21 May 2009, 21:08
Type the number ten into the box: 0
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Unofficial Update Documentation Manual

Post by clintonman »

Bug fix for the Dimensions. The Regenerate All was giving an error because of the material changes in the code.

Scripts/CustomCommands/Dimensions

I also tested Auto triangulation with the default "On release". Show triangles option was also checked so I could see the triangle changes. The result is that the triangles changed and the regenerate dimensions still worked. So no need for Auto triangulation being set to None.
Attachments
Dimensions.RsObj
(539.28 KiB) Downloaded 43 times
Clinton Reese

http://clintons3d.com
User avatar
clintonman
Captain
Posts: 5432
Joined: 21 May 2009, 21:08
Type the number ten into the box: 0
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Unofficial Update Documentation Manual

Post by clintonman »

not documented - rectangle select works on the object bounding box not the actual visible mesh
Clinton Reese

http://clintons3d.com
User avatar
trueBlue
Captain
Posts: 5216
Joined: 06 Jul 2009, 22:50
Type the number ten into the box: 10

Re: Unofficial Update Documentation Manual

Post by trueBlue »

Rectangle Select
Note: The only label set to Divisions is "Inside Rectangle"
I do not think it is possible to set Divisions to anything other than 0, 1, 24
Otherwise Ray Tracing gets unchecked including Inside Rectangle and Partially Inside Rectangle
Removed due to update
User avatar
trueBlue
Captain
Posts: 5216
Joined: 06 Jul 2009, 22:50
Type the number ten into the box: 10

Re: Unofficial Update Documentation Manual

Post by trueBlue »

Just noticed the RectSlect panel has a Exp aspect
Probably need to recreate the panel from scratch
Removed due to update
Post Reply