3dlight resolution limit ?

LightWorks, VRay, Dribble, YafaRay and more..
Post Reply
User avatar
Emmanuel
Master Chief Petty Officer
Posts: 510
Joined: 14 Jun 2009, 06:47

3dlight resolution limit ?

Post by Emmanuel » 15 Mar 2015, 18:00

Here is a Dribble/3delight render. I'm using 3delight because of its displacement mapping that allows a quick and nice looking hair fibre scales :) It is amazing how can render a simple cylinder with 3delight and the right bump map !

Problem is I can't render that simple scene at 8000x8000. Dribble just crashes.
It seems I can't get a render above 4000x4000 actually, and it is rather problematic because it is a professional order.

Does anyone has tricks to render hi-resolution pictures with Dribble ?
Or is there a built-in limit ? 3delight is a video/cinema renderer after all and maybe it has some 4K limit. What do you think ?

Image

User avatar
Finis
Captain
Posts: 4597
Joined: 21 May 2009, 18:26
Type the number ten into the box: 0
Location: America!
Contact:

Re: 3dlight resolution limit ?

Post by Finis » 16 Mar 2015, 02:18

I tried an 8K x 8K render of simple shapes in Daz Studio 4.7 which uses 3Delight for rendering. That worked. 16mb png file in 47 seconds. The image looked good. So, it is probably a dribble problem.

If you like rendering with 3Delight you could try export/import to Daz. I do that with obj files.
A big scary crisis threatens the existence of the forum. The only solution is for me to have total power over every aspect of your lives.

User avatar
Emmanuel
Master Chief Petty Officer
Posts: 510
Joined: 14 Jun 2009, 06:47

Re: 3dlight resolution limit ?

Post by Emmanuel » 16 Mar 2015, 08:22

Finis wrote:So, it is probably a dribble problem.
Or a trueSpace problem ;) I just tried to scale down my textures to 1024*1024 and I could complete a render at 6000x6000 pixels (at 7000 it crashes during rendering).
Just like in Lightworks rendering, trueSpace has a problem using very large textures. With Lightworks, the good habit is to keep texture below 2048*2048 ; it seems we should do the same for 3delight rendering.

Perhaps I should make a test in DAZ also.
Thank you Finis :)

User avatar
Draise
Captain
Posts: 3006
Joined: 21 Sep 2009, 19:33
Type the number ten into the box: 0
Location: Bogota, Colombia
Contact:

Re: 3dlight resolution limit ?

Post by Draise » 16 Mar 2015, 12:48

I assume it all would depend on your RAM overhead.

User avatar
Emmanuel
Master Chief Petty Officer
Posts: 510
Joined: 14 Jun 2009, 06:47

Re: 3dlight resolution limit ?

Post by Emmanuel » 16 Mar 2015, 18:03

Draise wrote:I assume it all would depend on your RAM overhead.
It is not a RAM issue. There is more than 5 Gb of free ram when Dribble crashes.

An other thing I noticed is that if a get a crash at, let's say 7000x7000, I can't complete a render at 5000x5000 just after. I have to restart the computer to get that 5000x5000 to complete.
It looks like there is some remaining bugs crawling in the memory, making next large renderings crashing. I don't see anything relative to dribble or 3delight in the task manager though.

User avatar
marcel
Captain
Posts: 2236
Joined: 21 May 2009, 19:52
Type the number ten into the box: 0
Location: paris - France
Contact:

Re: 3dlight resolution limit ?

Post by marcel » 17 Mar 2015, 20:59

A 32bits software have a limit with ram even if you have 5 or more gb free.
Design - illustration - Animation
http://www.crea-vision.fr

User avatar
marcel
Captain
Posts: 2236
Joined: 21 May 2009, 19:52
Type the number ten into the box: 0
Location: paris - France
Contact:

Re: 3dlight resolution limit ?

Post by marcel » 18 Mar 2015, 10:10

Here is a solution to create HD render with TS.
Cameras can be grouped together and have the same position exactly. There is a slight overlap of images to facilitate bonding to Photosop. TS may have four juxtaposed windows. This gives two possibilities :
32000 x 8000 with 4 cam aligned
16000 x 16000 with 4 cam positioned on a square. (don't forget the cams are on the same position. It is the rotation of each cam who create the four parts)
To a render of 8000 x 8000 you need to render 4 pictures with a resolution of 4000 x4000. I think that is not a problem for 3dlight.

After some adjustments, an object "panocam" may be used for other things. It's worth to refine it.
Attachments
Panocam.jpg
Design - illustration - Animation
http://www.crea-vision.fr

User avatar
Draise
Captain
Posts: 3006
Joined: 21 Sep 2009, 19:33
Type the number ten into the box: 0
Location: Bogota, Colombia
Contact:

Re: 3dlight resolution limit ?

Post by Draise » 18 Mar 2015, 12:22

That actually is a.. genius idea.

v3rd3
Lieutenant Commander
Posts: 1101
Joined: 21 May 2009, 20:04

Re: 3dlight resolution limit ?

Post by v3rd3 » 18 Mar 2015, 20:26

Thank you Marcel... glad to see you here. :worship:

Post Reply