FBX 2 import export

free scripts, plugins, models, textures
User avatar
clintonman
Captain
Posts: 5432
Joined: 21 May 2009, 21:08
Type the number ten into the box: 0
Location: California
Contact:

Re: FBX 2 import export

Post by clintonman »

trueBlue wrote: 26 Aug 2023, 02:55 I do not know if this is because the way the fbx is written or the FBX Importer creates the shaders correctly
The DefaultModelTextureShader is correct for the troll
DefaultModelTextureShader.png
.
The Collada Importer's DefaultModelTextureShader always creates a shinny object
So, whatever you are doing with the FBX Importer, it would be great if you could do the same for the Collada Importer

The Status Message is stuck
Status message is stuck.png
FBXDAEShine01.jpg
Shine before exporting just the pants to collada with enhanced + scene instancing

FBXDAEShine02.jpg
Shine after import using Collada importer.
Has the same shininess.


If import the collada file with FBX importer, still the same shininess.


Status message is stuck, but not saying anything. So good enough for me.
Clinton Reese

http://clintons3d.com
User avatar
trueBlue
Captain
Posts: 5216
Joined: 06 Jul 2009, 22:50
Type the number ten into the box: 10

Re: FBX 2 import export

Post by trueBlue »

Revisiting the trueSpace Horse character using Rosetta
Both FBX Import (DAE) and Collada Import give errors

Code: Select all

ERR   Source object: /Scripts/CustomCommands/colladagroup/callplugin Error: Unspecified script error Line: 13, Char: 1 Script text:  Clintons3dDAE.ImportDAE();

ERR   Source object: /Scripts/CustomCommands/fbxgroup2/callimport2 Error: Unspecified script error Line: 46, Char: 1 Script text:  ClintonsFBX2019Plugin.FBXimport(); 
On another note, with regards to the callimport script:
fbxgroup2/callimport

Code: Select all

	try {
		var mode = Node.Value("Preferences/Desktop","BridgeSync");

		Node.Value("Preferences/Desktop","BridgeSync") = "Off";
		tSBridge.SetBridgeSyncStatus(0);//0 = off

		params.ConValue("bridgemode") = mode;
	}
	catch (err) {
		System.Trace("bridge ignored for Rosetta version.");
	}
Rosetta does not have the Project/TSScene node
TSScene.png
.

Code: Select all

util = System.CreateDO("Clintons3D Package/Utility functions")
if(Node.Exists('Project/TSScene')) {
var mode = Node.Value('Preferences/Desktop','BridgeSync')
if(Node.ConExists(mode))
util.SetNodeValueString('Preferences/Desktop','BridgeSync', 'Off')
//Not Necessary:The above command sets this ->  util.SetNodeValueInt('/Project/TSScene', 'Scene sync', 0); //(0 = Off) (1 = On) (2 = Auto)
params.ConValue("bridgemode") = mode
}
//	try {
//		var mode = Node.Value("Preferences/Desktop","BridgeSync");

//		Node.Value("Preferences/Desktop","BridgeSync") = "Off";
//		tSBridge.SetBridgeSyncStatus(0);//0 = off

//		params.ConValue("bridgemode") = mode;
//	}
//	catch (err) {
//		System.Trace("bridge ignored for Rosetta version.");
//	}
EDIT:
It also looks like you are not restoring the Matarial Editor's Material instancing
Node.Value("/Material Editor/Material Editor", "Material instancing")
Attachments
Horse.RsScn
(1.76 MiB) Downloaded 43 times
User avatar
clintonman
Captain
Posts: 5432
Joined: 21 May 2009, 21:08
Type the number ten into the box: 0
Location: California
Contact:

Re: FBX 2 import export

Post by clintonman »

trueBlue wrote: 27 Aug 2023, 13:48 Revisiting the trueSpace Horse character using Rosetta
Both FBX Import (DAE) and Collada Import give errors

Code: Select all

ERR   Source object: /Scripts/CustomCommands/colladagroup/callplugin Error: Unspecified script error Line: 13, Char: 1 Script text:  Clintons3dDAE.ImportDAE();

ERR   Source object: /Scripts/CustomCommands/fbxgroup2/callimport2 Error: Unspecified script error Line: 46, Char: 1 Script text:  ClintonsFBX2019Plugin.FBXimport(); 
On another note, with regards to the callimport script:
fbxgroup2/callimport

Code: Select all

	try {
		var mode = Node.Value("Preferences/Desktop","BridgeSync");

		Node.Value("Preferences/Desktop","BridgeSync") = "Off";
		tSBridge.SetBridgeSyncStatus(0);//0 = off

		params.ConValue("bridgemode") = mode;
	}
	catch (err) {
		System.Trace("bridge ignored for Rosetta version.");
	}
Rosetta does not have the Project/TSScene node
TSScene.png
.

Code: Select all

util = System.CreateDO("Clintons3D Package/Utility functions")
if(Node.Exists('Project/TSScene')) {
var mode = Node.Value('Preferences/Desktop','BridgeSync')
if(Node.ConExists(mode))
util.SetNodeValueString('Preferences/Desktop','BridgeSync', 'Off')
//Not Necessary:The above command sets this ->  util.SetNodeValueInt('/Project/TSScene', 'Scene sync', 0); //(0 = Off) (1 = On) (2 = Auto)
params.ConValue("bridgemode") = mode
}
//	try {
//		var mode = Node.Value("Preferences/Desktop","BridgeSync");

//		Node.Value("Preferences/Desktop","BridgeSync") = "Off";
//		tSBridge.SetBridgeSyncStatus(0);//0 = off

//		params.ConValue("bridgemode") = mode;
//	}
//	catch (err) {
//		System.Trace("bridge ignored for Rosetta version.");
//	}
EDIT:
It also looks like you are not restoring the Matarial Editor's Material instancing
Node.Value("/Material Editor/Material Editor", "Material instancing")
Not seeing any errors here.
Fixed actor material export for the Enhanced Collada based on your horse.

"Rosetta does not have the Project/TSScene node"
Does that mean something?
Clinton Reese

http://clintons3d.com
User avatar
trueBlue
Captain
Posts: 5216
Joined: 06 Jul 2009, 22:50
Type the number ten into the box: 10

Re: FBX 2 import export

Post by trueBlue »

trueBlue: "Rosetta does not have the Project/TSScene node"
Does that mean something?
Yes, it means the "Rosetta does not have the Project/TSScene node"
It means that the Try&Catch is not necessary.
Also, using tSBridge.SetBridgeSyncStatus(0) is not necessary.
Simply setting the util.SetNodeValueString('Preferences/Desktop','BridgeSync', 'Off'), sets the BridgeSyncStatus to 0

Thought maybe my error had something to do with these Try&Catch
User avatar
clintonman
Captain
Posts: 5432
Joined: 21 May 2009, 21:08
Type the number ten into the box: 0
Location: California
Contact:

Re: FBX 2 import export

Post by clintonman »

trueBlue wrote: 27 Aug 2023, 13:48 Revisiting the trueSpace Horse character using Rosetta
Both FBX Import (DAE) and Collada Import give errors
...
Did a fresh download and install of fbx and collada importer on a separate machine and got no errors.
Both of the rsx are generated on different machines using different versions of visual studio. So they basically have nothing in common codewise.
The fact that both are failing makes me think the problem is unique to your machine. Do either of them report any errors in the Log view?

Side note, the vs2013 version of the rsx failed to work on that same machine. I had to build a vs2022 version to get it to work. The computer just finished a system update and now the vs2013 build suddenly started working.
Clinton Reese

http://clintons3d.com
User avatar
trueBlue
Captain
Posts: 5216
Joined: 06 Jul 2009, 22:50
Type the number ten into the box: 10

Re: FBX 2 import export

Post by trueBlue »

Just looked at my current Rostta log file that started this morning at 6:53 AM and ended at 11:05AM

[NEW_LOG_SESSION]-[08/27/23 06:53:19]
...
...
11:05:56.551 INFO Shuting down ...

It shows the errors that I shared with you and nothing else out of the ordinary

I also imported a ColladaBox.DAE several times without any issues during this time
I have only installed:
Clintons3DFBX2019.rsx
Clintons3dDAE.rsx

I did not try the other Clintons3DFBX2019B.rsx (Spelling?)
Which one are you using?
User avatar
clintonman
Captain
Posts: 5432
Joined: 21 May 2009, 21:08
Type the number ten into the box: 0
Location: California
Contact:

Re: FBX 2 import export

Post by clintonman »

trueBlue wrote: 27 Aug 2023, 21:32 Just looked at my current Rostta log file that started this morning at 6:53 AM and ended at 11:05AM

[NEW_LOG_SESSION]-[08/27/23 06:53:19]
...
...
11:05:56.551 INFO Shuting down ...

It shows the errors that I shared with you and nothing else out of the ordinary

I also imported a ColladaBox.DAE several times without any issues during this time
I have only installed:
Clintons3DFBX2019.rsx
Clintons3dDAE.rsx

I did not try the other Clintons3DFBX2019B.rsx (Spelling?)
Which one are you using?
The error may be in the form of a Trace. Those don't show in the Rosetta log file. You should try looking at the Log view for any errors instead.

I'm using Clintons3DFBX2019.rsx no B
Clintons3DFBX2019.rsx was built with vs2013
Clintons3DFBX2019B.rsx was built with vs2022 and will not work with winXP

You can always share the DAE file and a context(ctx) file.
Clinton Reese

http://clintons3d.com
User avatar
trueBlue
Captain
Posts: 5216
Joined: 06 Jul 2009, 22:50
Type the number ten into the box: 10

Re: FBX 2 import export

Post by trueBlue »

From the Rosetta log file
Activity.Run('/Scripts/CustomCommands/colladagroup/OpenPanel')
Topology example command5
System.Trace('C:\Users\trueBlue\Desktop\ColladaBox.dae');
System.Alert('Import complete.')
User avatar
clintonman
Captain
Posts: 5432
Joined: 21 May 2009, 21:08
Type the number ten into the box: 0
Location: California
Contact:

Re: FBX 2 import export

Post by clintonman »

trueBlue wrote: 27 Aug 2023, 21:45 From the log file
Activity.Run('/Scripts/CustomCommands/colladagroup/OpenPanel')
Topology example command5
System.Trace('C:\Users\trueBlue\Desktop\ColladaBox.dae');
System.Alert('Import complete.')
You should probably try it with something that doesn't work. Testing on something that already works wont show much.
Clinton Reese

http://clintons3d.com
User avatar
trueBlue
Captain
Posts: 5216
Joined: 06 Jul 2009, 22:50
Type the number ten into the box: 10

Re: FBX 2 import export

Post by trueBlue »

I am just showing that the plugin seems to be working without an error
FBX Import
FBX Import and plugin is working.png
.

It is the Horse scene that throws an error
Post Reply