3DCoat overheating

Technical questions, etc..
pugman 1
Captain
Posts: 1554
Joined: 21 May 2009, 19:26
Type the number ten into the box: 0
Location: Germany

3DCoat overheating

Post by pugman 1 »

Hi guys hope someone can help .When i use 3d coat after 2mins i get a warning my cpu is overloaded
and running hot ,this never happens with zbrush with a 5 million poly model all day.I
realy like 3d coat but cant use it .i wanted to upgrade to version 4 but that cooks my cpu as well
any one know the answer to this.
cheers Ralph

User avatar
Tiles
Master Chief Petty Officer
Posts: 392
Joined: 27 May 2009, 08:34

Re: 3DCoat overheating

Post by Tiles »

Voxels are very cpu hungry. And 3D Coat is a voxel modeler. You can also work with mesh instead voxels. Maybe this helps you.

Hm, a pc shouldn`t get overheated even when it runs at 100%. Have you considered to clean it and remove the dust bunnies from the radiators? When this doesn`t help then i would consider to buy a stronger fan.
Free Gamegraphics, Freeware Games http://reinerstilesets.de

v3rd3
Lieutenant Commander
Posts: 1144
Joined: 21 May 2009, 20:04

Re: 3DCoat overheating

Post by v3rd3 »

The quick questions I can think of are:

1) Are you using the openGL or the Directx drivers? one might use less cpu than the other
2) Which cpu utilities do you have to measure heat etc.? Some can chart over time and give us some better clues.
3) Would you please tell us if you have a tablet attached etc.
4) Details of your cpu, mobo and case would help as well.

pugman 1
Captain
Posts: 1554
Joined: 21 May 2009, 19:26
Type the number ten into the box: 0
Location: Germany

Re: 3DCoat overheating

Post by pugman 1 »

Hi and thanks ,ok i have a i7 3770k 8 cores ,i tested both cl and gx 32 and 64 bit
while i monitered the heat and last off the cpu (is last a english word, man im loosing my english. how hard the cpu is working )
the cpu in all versions .2 cores hit 100% the rest about 40% the heat is low 35c .after
2 mins i get the message cpu uberlasted , workin too hard , i find that strange because when i render in other apps
the cpu all cores run at 100% i get no warning , only with 3d coat .
all cores at 100% i have a temp off 70c .thats ok .
Cheers Ralph

v3rd3
Lieutenant Commander
Posts: 1144
Joined: 21 May 2009, 20:04

Re: 3DCoat overheating

Post by v3rd3 »

what kind of cooling system do you have... I use thermaltake v1 copper heat sink and my Thermaltake case has 5 120mm fans. I also have every, I mean every, interior cable tied off and out of the way.

Check your GPU to see what kind of work out it is getting at the same time.

I am running an i7 as well and seem to be fine with 3d coat.

If your case is too small you will not get the air flow you need. If you are running the stock intel cpu cooler you really need to spend a few bucks on something else.

Also, check the reviews of the thermal paste available in your area. There are a lot of bad ones. I used thermaltake for my i7 and it works well.

The load sharing on the cpus is not always equal, it depends on the active microcode and compiler switches to determine all the threading that goes on... sorry if it's a lousy explanation I am just very tired.

Let me know how this works....

User avatar
MikomDude
Captain
Posts: 1840
Joined: 04 Oct 2010, 11:12
Type the number ten into the box: 0
Location: Verona, Italy
Contact:

Re: 3DCoat overheating

Post by MikomDude »

I also use the Intel core i7 3770K (it has 4 cores and 8 threads, people easily get those mixed up) and I can confirm what v3rd3 say, if you are using the stock Intel CPU cooler then you must upgrade it. That thing comes standard with the i7, i5 and possibly even i3 and the bloody thing is a disgrace, haha.

Not sure how much you're into building PCs but if you want a cheap yet reliable CPU cooler, try the Coolermaster Hyper 212 EVO. It's an efficient cooler that works really well for high end i5s as well as i7s + it's fully Intel/AMD compatible.

If anything, just try cleaning dust out of the PC like the guys already suggested. How much heat is it building up? If it's over 100C at the base clock of 3.5 GHz then it should not be overheating that much.
Also, how much RAM have you got?

User avatar
spacekdet
Captain
Posts: 1708
Joined: 27 May 2009, 15:00
Type the number ten into the box: 10
Location: On the day shift at the Utility Muffin Research Kitchen
Contact:

Re: 3DCoat overheating

Post by spacekdet »

Overheating you say?
Unzip your coat!

pugman 1
Captain
Posts: 1554
Joined: 21 May 2009, 19:26
Type the number ten into the box: 0
Location: Germany

Re: 3DCoat overheating

Post by pugman 1 »

Ok my pc is not overheating its overloading or was overloading, it dyed .
I could not find anything wrong with it but it would no longer boot .im am certain i picked up a virus from somewhere .
so i did a clean install of win 8 and all is well .as for how much i know about building pcs ,i have built to date at least 12
4 of them for my family . the cases wich my 2 pcs have are the cm 690 2 advanced there full size cases .one for my 3d work one for my gamer .
both pcs are loaded out with noctua fans han noctua hest sinks .my 3d pc has 32 gig ram i7 3770k .My gamer i5 3570k 8gig ram .
since the new install of windows every thing is ok no prob more with 3d coat .

User avatar
MikomDude
Captain
Posts: 1840
Joined: 04 Oct 2010, 11:12
Type the number ten into the box: 0
Location: Verona, Italy
Contact:

Re: 3DCoat overheating

Post by MikomDude »

Yeah it sure sounds like something went seriously wrong in your PC. Hope you didn't loose any valuable data.

pugman 1
Captain
Posts: 1554
Joined: 21 May 2009, 19:26
Type the number ten into the box: 0
Location: Germany

Re: 3DCoat overheating

Post by pugman 1 »

No date lost I have only win 8 on the ssd and all software and date on 3 other hardrives.
this is why i have two seperate pcs one gamer and this one

Post Reply