YafaRay for trueSpace 2019

LightWorks, VRay, Dribble, YafaRay and more..
clintonman
Captain
Posts: 2496
Joined: 21 May 2009, 21:08
Type the number ten into the box: 0
Location: California
Contact:

Re: YafaRay for trueSpace 2019

Post by clintonman » 08 Jul 2019, 02:29

I found a solution to the spotlight being replaced by a modelspace spotlight.
Fix is to export the "Map size" and "Enable shadows" connectors on the Spot Preferences node.
The spotlight was also being replaced if you go to modelspace and toggle the shadows or change the value of the shadow map size. My guess is that modelspace tries to read/change a value, doesn't see it so assumes a bad object and replaces it.
Clinton Reese

http://clintons3d.com

clintonman
Captain
Posts: 2496
Joined: 21 May 2009, 21:08
Type the number ten into the box: 0
Location: California
Contact:

Re: YafaRay for trueSpace 2019

Post by clintonman » 11 Jul 2019, 06:17

workspaceShieldIcon.jpg
workspaceShieldIcon.jpg (16.52 KiB) Viewed 571 times
I have it mostly worked out now. Attached is a script to protect workspace from modelspace random changes. There was a lot more messy things with the bridge going from model to work space than I originally thought. Have to do more testing to see if anything else is happening.
This will be a replacement for the protect materials script with a new icon shown above.

It backs up by:
  • 1. rename items to be modelspace compatible - changes end of name from [comma-space-number] to just [comma-number]
    2. fixes lights by exporting map size and enable shadow connectors
    3. saves materials and light colors
    4. saves the matrix values of all items to protect their positions
It restores by:
  • 1. copy the matrix values back
    2. copy the materials and light colors back into place
Attachments
ProtectWorkspace.RsObj
(56.75 KiB) Downloaded 10 times
Clinton Reese

http://clintons3d.com

User avatar
trueBlue
Captain
Posts: 1744
Joined: 06 Jul 2009, 22:50
Type the number ten into the box: 10

Re: YafaRay for trueSpace 2019

Post by trueBlue » 11 Jul 2019, 13:09

2. fixes lights by exporting map size and enable shadow connectors

Have not tried your script yet.
Seems that exporting the attributes would break the interface "Spot Preferences" from working.
The original light(s) have ALL of the attributes exported out.

clintonman
Captain
Posts: 2496
Joined: 21 May 2009, 21:08
Type the number ten into the box: 0
Location: California
Contact:

Re: YafaRay for trueSpace 2019

Post by clintonman » 11 Jul 2019, 16:41

Just found out camera fov and spot angle are also effected by modelspace/bridge.
Clinton Reese

http://clintons3d.com

User avatar
trueBlue
Captain
Posts: 1744
Joined: 06 Jul 2009, 22:50
Type the number ten into the box: 10

Re: YafaRay for trueSpace 2019

Post by trueBlue » 11 Jul 2019, 18:23

Looks like I will need to fix all of the lights in the update.
Might be awhile.
Here is an updated Spot and YafaRay Spot
Removed due to update

I notice that when I use Model to change the Map Size it does not change the values on the node.
This is true with Model or Workspace lights.
Also changing the Attenuation changes the Angle.

clintonman
Captain
Posts: 2496
Joined: 21 May 2009, 21:08
Type the number ten into the box: 0
Location: California
Contact:

Re: YafaRay for trueSpace 2019

Post by clintonman » 13 Jul 2019, 15:12

trueBlue wrote:
11 Jul 2019, 18:23
Looks like I will need to fix all of the lights in the update.
Might be awhile.
Here is an updated Spot and YafaRay Spot
Spot.RsObj
YafaRay Spot.RsObj
I notice that when I use Model to change the Map Size it does not change the values on the node.
This is true with Model or Workspace lights.
Also changing the Attenuation changes the Angle.
I don't see the Attenuation changing the Angle. Changing the Falloff dist changes the AttQuadratic value which seems correct to me. This is testing on a Model spotlight and old Workspace spotlight from unpatched truespace.
It looks like some information doesn't pass through the bridge and some only goes one way.
If you export the Area light visible connector to the top of a model area light, it changes when you click Render geometry in the area light options. If you check it on Workspace model doesn't see it.
The new Area lights aren't recognized by Model as area lights. It comes across as a point light. I have no idea why. I striped the light down to look just like the model area light and it still came over as a point light. I will test with vray to determine if it sees it properly.
Last edited by clintonman on 13 Jul 2019, 16:02, edited 1 time in total.
Clinton Reese

http://clintons3d.com

clintonman
Captain
Posts: 2496
Joined: 21 May 2009, 21:08
Type the number ten into the box: 0
Location: California
Contact:

Re: YafaRay for trueSpace 2019

Post by clintonman » 13 Jul 2019, 15:15

Latest protection script adds spotlight angle and camera fov.
Edit: fixed bug
Attachments
ProtectWorkspace.RsObj
(67.75 KiB) Downloaded 11 times
Last edited by clintonman on 14 Jul 2019, 00:19, edited 1 time in total.
Clinton Reese

http://clintons3d.com

User avatar
trueBlue
Captain
Posts: 1744
Joined: 06 Jul 2009, 22:50
Type the number ten into the box: 10

Re: YafaRay for trueSpace 2019

Post by trueBlue » 13 Jul 2019, 16:11

The only thing I can think of with regards to rendering model animation in YafaRay4tS is do your animation first with the Bridge off in Model. Then transfer the animation to a Workspace animation and Model light values to YafaRay4tS lights.

clintonman
Captain
Posts: 2496
Joined: 21 May 2009, 21:08
Type the number ten into the box: 0
Location: California
Contact:

Re: YafaRay for trueSpace 2019

Post by clintonman » 13 Jul 2019, 16:25

trueBlue wrote:
13 Jul 2019, 16:11
The only thing I can think of with regards to rendering model animation in YafaRay4tS is do your animation first with the Bridge off in Model. Then transfer the animation to a Workspace animation and Model light values to YafaRay4tS lights.
I didn't think about that. I was only considering the opposite, workspace animations with a few modelspace animations that aren't possible in workspace like, vertex, facial and particles added in.

The workspace protection scripts seem to be ready, so I'll be doing some animation tests next and adding some of the protections to the process.

I tested and the new area light works in vray, so no worries there.
Clinton Reese

http://clintons3d.com

clintonman
Captain
Posts: 2496
Joined: 21 May 2009, 21:08
Type the number ten into the box: 0
Location: California
Contact:

Re: YafaRay for trueSpace 2019

Post by clintonman » 14 Jul 2019, 05:41

Protect_00030.png
Protect_00032.png
First test result is good. I used the d3d render script combined with the workspace protection to render a test particle animation. Top is the protected slightly shinier d3d material and the bottom is the appearance without the protection. The exact same technique can protect the yafaray materials during its render.
Clinton Reese

http://clintons3d.com

Post Reply