YafaRay4tS version 0.8.0

LightWorks, VRay, Dribble, YafaRay and more..
clintonman
Captain
Posts: 2196
Joined: 21 May 2009, 21:08
Type the number ten into the box: 0
Location: California
Contact:

YafaRay4tS version 0.8.0

Post by clintonman » 31 Jan 2016, 16:46

YafaRay4tS version 0.8.0 made for YafaRay version 2.0.2(beta)

May or may not be compatible with earlier versions of YafaRay (untested)

Note: just after starting this thread a newer 2.1.0 YafaRay was release, so it is not tested with this version yet.

partial save timer - save file while rendering to see progress
Tile rendering options - linear or random for bucket style renders

custom text for the Draw Params option

new material parameters:
visibility - normal, shadow only, no shadows, invisible
receive shadows checkbox
pass id

threads default to -1

render passes
multilayer option for exr file renders
RenderPassList.txt contains a list of all possible passes that can be typed into any slot. The channel isn't limited to the dropdown list selections.

Includes a script to update an existing scene's YafaRay4tS node

Registry script is included in the YafaRay4tS node setup tab





YafaRay4tS Installation

YafaRay4tS was created to work in tS7.61 Workspace (Rosetta)
It does not work in Model (tS6.6)
Tested with YafaRay version 2.0.2

get the latest YafaRay from https://github.com/DavidBluecame/Blende ... /releases/" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
unzip the file and copy the yafaray folder to Program Files
IE: C:\Program Files\yafaray

If you have previously installed YafaRay4tS before, Uninstall YafaRay4tS from the Add & Remove program in the Windows Control Panel first!

1.) Extract All the files from the YafaRay4tSv080.zip. into a folder named YafaRay4tSv080

IE: C:\trueSpace761\YafaRay4tSv080

2.) Open trueSpace7.61 and from the Workspace's File menu, Load the YafaRay4tS_Installer.RsObj from where you extracted the files. Do not drag and drop, use the file menu.

3.) From the YafaRay4tS Installer panel select the "Install" button.

You should see a tS761 Question message asking: "Your existing YafaRay4tS Libraries will be deleted and replaced with updated versions. Would you like to continue?", if not select your keyboard keys Alt + Tab to bring the message forward. Selecting "Yes" will start the installation and selecting "No" will cancel the installation." If you have any content saved in any of these three libraries, they will be deleted, so save anything you want into a different library.

4.) From the Stack/Panel - YafaRay4tS/Setup panel
a. Set the YafaRay Install Path to where you have installed the YafaRay render engine. (IE: C:\Program Files\yafaray\bin\yafaray-xml.exe)
b. Blender Plugin Path value does not matter
c. Choose 64 bit if installing for 64-bit YafaRay
d. Press the "Setup YafaRay in Registry" button
e. an explorer window will open to the "yafaray.reg" file, run this file to update the windows registry

5.) Select the "Save Settings" button to save your directories into the default YafaRay4tS object.

6.) Position the YafaRay4tS toolbar and save your Layout.

Congratulations you've finished your YafaRay4tS setup!
Attachments
YafaRay4tSv080.zip
(1.3 MiB) Downloaded 43 times
Last edited by clintonman on 31 Jan 2016, 17:08, edited 1 time in total.
Clinton Reese

http://clintons3d.com

clintonman
Captain
Posts: 2196
Joined: 21 May 2009, 21:08
Type the number ten into the box: 0
Location: California
Contact:

Re: YafaRay4tS version 0.8.0

Post by clintonman » 31 Jan 2016, 16:55

YafSetupTab.jpg
After installation the Setup tab will open.
Set path to the yafaray-xml.exe file
Choose 64 bit or not depending on the YafaRay version
Press the "Setup YafaRay in Registry" button
A file browser will open to the yafaray.reg file
Double click to add the needed values to the windows registry
Press the Save Settings button at the bottom

YafaRay4tS_Misc.jpg
YafaRay4tS_Misc.jpg (14.33 KiB) Viewed 1075 times
The misc tab has controls for Clay Render, Draw Params and custom string for the Draw Params
It also has tile type and size controls and a timer in seconds for periodically saving the render
The "Open Render Pass Panel" does what it says. Press it to get setup for render passes.
Clinton Reese

http://clintons3d.com

clintonman
Captain
Posts: 2196
Joined: 21 May 2009, 21:08
Type the number ten into the box: 0
Location: California
Contact:

Re: YafaRay4tS version 0.8.0

Post by clintonman » 31 Jan 2016, 17:01

YafaRay4tS_passes.jpg
Check "enable" to turn on render passes

Use the dropdown to select render passes
Can also type in values. A list of possible values can be found in the RenderPasses.txt file

The MultiLayer option at the bottom only applies to the exr file format.

YafaRay4tS_material.jpg
New material options are at the bottom of the materials
PassID is used with the render passes
visibility can be set to normal, shadow only, no shadows or invisible
ReceiveShadows uncheck so material does not get shadowed
Clinton Reese

http://clintons3d.com

User avatar
bitkar
Commander
Posts: 1219
Joined: 16 Mar 2010, 07:14
Type the number ten into the box: 0
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: YafaRay4tS version 0.8.0

Post by bitkar » 01 Feb 2016, 12:17

you are the boss... shame we cant use it in modelspace. But Ive been playing with yafaray and its a very nice renderer (especially the lighting using light emiting materials)
Michal aka bitkar
tS freak since tS2 (1998) and forever (tS7.61 modeler)

User avatar
trueBlue
Commander
Posts: 1497
Joined: 06 Jul 2009, 22:50
Type the number ten into the box: 10

Re: YafaRay4tS version 0.8.0

Post by trueBlue » 04 Mar 2018, 21:29

Starting looking into incorporating this version of YafaRay4tS into the final update and notice two things.
The Help file is empty. Only the Table of Contents is showing.

In the YafaRay Settings button, the Lighting Method Switch does not seem to be working.

Code: Select all

if (Node.Exists(Space.CurrentScene()+"/YafaRay4tS")){} else {if(Node.Exists("/Yafaray Folder")){Node.Copy("/Yafaray Folder/YafaRay4tS", Space.CurrentScene());}};Activity.Run(Space.CurrentScene() + "/YafaRay4tS/Lighting Method Switch")
I found the old version at www.yafaray4ts.org
Attachments
YafaRay4tS Help.zip
(171.6 KiB) Downloaded 12 times

clintonman
Captain
Posts: 2196
Joined: 21 May 2009, 21:08
Type the number ten into the box: 0
Location: California
Contact:

Re: YafaRay4tS version 0.8.0

Post by clintonman » 05 Mar 2018, 00:28

trueBlue wrote:
04 Mar 2018, 21:29
Starting looking into incorporating this version of YafaRay4tS into the final update and notice two things.
The Help file is empty. Only the Table of Contents is showing.

In the YafaRay Settings button, the Lighting Method Switch does not seem to be working.

Code: Select all

if (Node.Exists(Space.CurrentScene()+"/YafaRay4tS")){} else {if(Node.Exists("/Yafaray Folder")){Node.Copy("/Yafaray Folder/YafaRay4tS", Space.CurrentScene());}};Activity.Run(Space.CurrentScene() + "/YafaRay4tS/Lighting Method Switch")
I found the old version at www.yafaray4ts.org
HelpPermissions.jpg
It's a permissions thing. Have to Unblock to see it. Odd behavior, you'd think it would just not open it in the first place.

I'll have to get back to you about the light later.
Clinton Reese

http://clintons3d.com

clintonman
Captain
Posts: 2196
Joined: 21 May 2009, 21:08
Type the number ten into the box: 0
Location: California
Contact:

Re: YafaRay4tS version 0.8.0

Post by clintonman » 05 Mar 2018, 00:31

One more thing, if you're going to add Yafaray4tS to the unofficial update do you want to wait so we have access to the standard tS render buttons? The latest unpublished clintons3dplugin rsx file has access to them.
Clinton Reese

http://clintons3d.com

clintonman
Captain
Posts: 2196
Joined: 21 May 2009, 21:08
Type the number ten into the box: 0
Location: California
Contact:

Re: YafaRay4tS version 0.8.0

Post by clintonman » 05 Mar 2018, 01:13

trueBlue wrote:
04 Mar 2018, 21:29
Starting looking into incorporating this version of YafaRay4tS into the final update and notice two things.
The Help file is empty. Only the Table of Contents is showing.

In the YafaRay Settings button, the Lighting Method Switch does not seem to be working.

Code: Select all

if (Node.Exists(Space.CurrentScene()+"/YafaRay4tS")){} else {if(Node.Exists("/Yafaray Folder")){Node.Copy("/Yafaray Folder/YafaRay4tS", Space.CurrentScene());}};Activity.Run(Space.CurrentScene() + "/YafaRay4tS/Lighting Method Switch")
I found the old version at www.yafaray4ts.org
I can't find the button. Picture please..
Clinton Reese

http://clintons3d.com

User avatar
trueBlue
Commander
Posts: 1497
Joined: 06 Jul 2009, 22:50
Type the number ten into the box: 10

Re: YafaRay4tS version 0.8.0

Post by trueBlue » 05 Mar 2018, 01:33

Here is what I thought I could do.
I created a prototype for the YafaRay4tS toolbar and added the buttons to the Custom Toolbar.
Then I could include all the other needed items in the update, like libraries etc...
At least at this point a user would not lose anything from a Reset Context.

I would think you could update the above items when you are ready?

The YafaRay Settings button I was talking about is shown in the pic next to the Lights.
Do you want to supply me with the unpublished clintons3dplugin.rsx so I can supply that in the update?
Attachments
YafaRay4tS.PNG

clintonman
Captain
Posts: 2196
Joined: 21 May 2009, 21:08
Type the number ten into the box: 0
Location: California
Contact:

Re: YafaRay4tS version 0.8.0

Post by clintonman » 05 Mar 2018, 02:23

Ah, had a bunch of buttons and it was obscured.
The lighting method switch works here. Could be an unreliable change detector.

Here's the latest rsx file
v.1638410

It adds script access to the standard render buttons and updates the folder dialog so that folders can be created.
Attachments
Clintons3dPlugin.zip
(1.2 MiB) Downloaded 18 times
Clinton Reese

http://clintons3d.com

Post Reply