3dlight resolution limit ?

LightWorks, VRay, Dribble, YafaRay and more..
Post Reply
User avatar
Emmanuel
Master Chief Petty Officer
Posts: 438
Joined: 14 Jun 2009, 06:47

3dlight resolution limit ?

Post by Emmanuel » 15 Mar 2015, 18:00

Here is a Dribble/3delight render. I'm using 3delight because of its displacement mapping that allows a quick and nice looking hair fibre scales :) It is amazing how can render a simple cylinder with 3delight and the right bump map !

Problem is I can't render that simple scene at 8000x8000. Dribble just crashes.
It seems I can't get a render above 4000x4000 actually, and it is rather problematic because it is a professional order.

Does anyone has tricks to render hi-resolution pictures with Dribble ?
Or is there a built-in limit ? 3delight is a video/cinema renderer after all and maybe it has some 4K limit. What do you think ?

Image

User avatar
Finis
Captain
Posts: 4349
Joined: 21 May 2009, 18:26
Type the number ten into the box: 0
Location: America!
Contact:

Re: 3dlight resolution limit ?

Post by Finis » 16 Mar 2015, 02:18

I tried an 8K x 8K render of simple shapes in Daz Studio 4.7 which uses 3Delight for rendering. That worked. 16mb png file in 47 seconds. The image looked good. So, it is probably a dribble problem.

If you like rendering with 3Delight you could try export/import to Daz. I do that with obj files.
"I didn't come this far to only come this far." -- Barbara4u2c/Tom Brady/Unknown
So how bad was the internet before 2015?

User avatar
Emmanuel
Master Chief Petty Officer
Posts: 438
Joined: 14 Jun 2009, 06:47

Re: 3dlight resolution limit ?

Post by Emmanuel » 16 Mar 2015, 08:22

Finis wrote:So, it is probably a dribble problem.
Or a trueSpace problem ;) I just tried to scale down my textures to 1024*1024 and I could complete a render at 6000x6000 pixels (at 7000 it crashes during rendering).
Just like in Lightworks rendering, trueSpace has a problem using very large textures. With Lightworks, the good habit is to keep texture below 2048*2048 ; it seems we should do the same for 3delight rendering.

Perhaps I should make a test in DAZ also.
Thank you Finis :)

User avatar
Draise
Captain
Posts: 2811
Joined: 21 Sep 2009, 19:33
Type the number ten into the box: 0
Location: Bogota, Colombia
Contact:

Re: 3dlight resolution limit ?

Post by Draise » 16 Mar 2015, 12:48

I assume it all would depend on your RAM overhead.

User avatar
Emmanuel
Master Chief Petty Officer
Posts: 438
Joined: 14 Jun 2009, 06:47

Re: 3dlight resolution limit ?

Post by Emmanuel » 16 Mar 2015, 18:03

Draise wrote:I assume it all would depend on your RAM overhead.
It is not a RAM issue. There is more than 5 Gb of free ram when Dribble crashes.

An other thing I noticed is that if a get a crash at, let's say 7000x7000, I can't complete a render at 5000x5000 just after. I have to restart the computer to get that 5000x5000 to complete.
It looks like there is some remaining bugs crawling in the memory, making next large renderings crashing. I don't see anything relative to dribble or 3delight in the task manager though.

User avatar
marcel
Captain
Posts: 2228
Joined: 21 May 2009, 19:52
Type the number ten into the box: 0
Location: paris - France
Contact:

Re: 3dlight resolution limit ?

Post by marcel » 17 Mar 2015, 20:59

A 32bits software have a limit with ram even if you have 5 or more gb free.

User avatar
marcel
Captain
Posts: 2228
Joined: 21 May 2009, 19:52
Type the number ten into the box: 0
Location: paris - France
Contact:

Re: 3dlight resolution limit ?

Post by marcel » 18 Mar 2015, 10:10

Here is a solution to create HD render with TS.
Cameras can be grouped together and have the same position exactly. There is a slight overlap of images to facilitate bonding to Photosop. TS may have four juxtaposed windows. This gives two possibilities :
32000 x 8000 with 4 cam aligned
16000 x 16000 with 4 cam positioned on a square. (don't forget the cams are on the same position. It is the rotation of each cam who create the four parts)
To a render of 8000 x 8000 you need to render 4 pictures with a resolution of 4000 x4000. I think that is not a problem for 3dlight.

After some adjustments, an object "panocam" may be used for other things. It's worth to refine it.
Attachments
Panocam.jpg

User avatar
Draise
Captain
Posts: 2811
Joined: 21 Sep 2009, 19:33
Type the number ten into the box: 0
Location: Bogota, Colombia
Contact:

Re: 3dlight resolution limit ?

Post by Draise » 18 Mar 2015, 12:22

That actually is a.. genius idea.

v3rd3
Lieutenant Commander
Posts: 1071
Joined: 21 May 2009, 20:04

Re: 3dlight resolution limit ?

Post by v3rd3 » 18 Mar 2015, 20:26

Thank you Marcel... glad to see you here. :worship:

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest