Dribble configuration that works in 2018

LightWorks, VRay, Dribble, YafaRay and more..
User avatar
Emmanuel
Master Chief Petty Officer
Posts: 473
Joined: 14 Jun 2009, 06:47

Dribble configuration that works in 2018

Post by Emmanuel » 10 Jan 2018, 15:03

If you are using Dribble for your renders, could you please report in this thread your configuration :

- Windows version :
- TrueSpace version :
- 3Delight version :
- Dribble version :
- Dribble shaders pack :

And please make sure you get shadows !

The idea is to add on my trueSpace fan site a list of Dribble installation packs that work for everyone.
Frank's recent fresh install is showning that we must update the Dribble instruction page !

Thanks in advance for your help !

Krowbarh
Petty Officer Second Class
Posts: 21
Joined: 24 Jun 2017, 21:20
Type the number ten into the box: 10

Re: Dribble configuration that works in 2018

Post by Krowbarh » 17 Jan 2018, 18:07

Well, It'd be nice to have a dribble work no matter what the year. I have tried ALL the dribble combos installing as per instruction & made up a few myself. Most I ever got was flat 2d look with no shadows....but most of the time...nothing and I use nothing but XP SP3 32bit on 7 machines.

Read & saved all pages on this site relating to getting dribble to work for quick access & made flowchart style notes for installation...nothing. Some have got it to work but it seems to end there & there is no feedback on the how or system info or some definitive guide on how they got it to work.

At this point all I can say is I wish I had all those many hours back. I pretty much think that anyone who has got it working doesn't know what a fluke of luck it was they had.

User avatar
Finis
Captain
Posts: 4504
Joined: 21 May 2009, 18:26
Type the number ten into the box: 0
Location: America!
Contact:

Re: Dribble configuration that works in 2018

Post by Finis » 17 Jan 2018, 19:20

If you all want to model in TS but use a pbr renderer (dribble connects you to Vray or 3Delight?) I'd recommend Daz Studio with Iray. Export as obj, import to Daz, do textures/materials/lights and render there. Not as convenient a work flow as semi-integrated with a plug in but it works and you won't have all this trouble. It is free, you get Iray, up to date software on the Daz side, and if you have a compatible video card fast renders. I think it still does 3Delight too.
Send in the Scoops

Krowbarh
Petty Officer Second Class
Posts: 21
Joined: 24 Jun 2017, 21:20
Type the number ten into the box: 10

Re: Dribble configuration that works in 2018

Post by Krowbarh » 17 Jan 2018, 20:07

What I wanted was 3Delight viewport rendering in legacy 6.6 as well as the usual rendering. Not the 7.61 with the modelside 6.6 but the REAL ORIGINAL 6.6 which is a bit more spritely acting than the hesitant 7.61's modelside 6.6.

Pretty much it...If I want to go export (and all that) Then I already have a buttload of other options like Vue 6 & Bryce 6 & 7 though Bryce is barely an upgrade in render ability. Vue is quite fantastic for a final render.

User avatar
trueBlue
Captain
Posts: 1549
Joined: 06 Jul 2009, 22:50
Type the number ten into the box: 10

Re: Dribble configuration that works in 2018

Post by trueBlue » 17 Jan 2018, 20:51

Reading the dribble.txt file, it looks like XP is not supported. Part of the installation requires:
http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/deta ... laylang=en

Krowbarh
Petty Officer Second Class
Posts: 21
Joined: 24 Jun 2017, 21:20
Type the number ten into the box: 10

Re: Dribble configuration that works in 2018

Post by Krowbarh » 17 Jan 2018, 22:11

Huh? From that link there is dropdown...

Supported Operating System

Windows 2000, Windows 7, Windows Server 2003, Windows Server 2008, Windows Server 2008 R2, Windows Vista, Windows XP


I Have ALL the 2005s on my machines....

User avatar
trueBlue
Captain
Posts: 1549
Joined: 06 Jul 2009, 22:50
Type the number ten into the box: 10

Re: Dribble configuration that works in 2018

Post by trueBlue » 17 Jan 2018, 23:07

Sorry my bad! I am old and can not see. :shock:

Krowbarh
Petty Officer Second Class
Posts: 21
Joined: 24 Jun 2017, 21:20
Type the number ten into the box: 10

Re: Dribble configuration that works in 2018

Post by Krowbarh » 17 Jan 2018, 23:28

NONO...You are FINE! Thanks for taking an interest...

But...Yeah, I got C++ Originals plus the SP1s installed on my machines. Plus the 2008s, 2010s, ETC

User avatar
Emmanuel
Master Chief Petty Officer
Posts: 473
Joined: 14 Jun 2009, 06:47

Re: Dribble configuration that works in 2018

Post by Emmanuel » 19 Jan 2018, 09:41

Could you try this package ?

It works for me on Windows8.1 x64

User avatar
Steinie
Captain
Posts: 2726
Joined: 21 May 2009, 17:38
Type the number ten into the box: 10
Contact:

Re: Dribble configuration that works in 2018

Post by Steinie » 19 Jan 2018, 21:18

Link doesn't work for me.

Post Reply