Notes and Scene View for workspace

User avatar
clintonman
Captain
Posts: 4635
Joined: 21 May 2009, 21:08
Type the number ten into the box: 0
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Notes and Scene View for workspace

Post by clintonman »

WorkspaceHeirarchy01.jpg
WorkspaceHeirarchy01.jpg (37.95 KiB) Viewed 214 times
Image shows the new hierarchy options and new buttons. From left to right they are parent, unparent, add to group 2D and add to group 3D. RMB Panel gives options for invisible parenting and copy when running any of the buttons except unparent. It also has buttons to preset the selections and a button to move any node to the scene. Move to Scene will use the presets Source or if the Source is not set it will just use the current selection.
All of this exists in the new Scene View. I just decided to add some toolbar buttons to call the same functions.


Testing is going well. Only a few things left on the TODO list:
want to maybe verify delete of nodes outside of the scene. Caligari made it more difficult to delete outside the scene to stop accidental removal of vital nodes.
check all working with NURBS
maybe some error feedback
change to rsx plugin so server is not hard coded to port 8080 and want to add option to change the root which is the tS folder, it would be better if the root was the web folder.

Found some interesting tS behaviors.
Show Object Attribs does not work for group objects with only 1 member, no error, it just does nothing
When you load a camera or light the visibility state seems wonky. It says it's invisible. Making it invisible and then visible again clears out the bad value.
Clinton Reese

http://clintons3d.com

User avatar
trueBlue
Captain
Posts: 4224
Joined: 06 Jul 2009, 22:50
Type the number ten into the box: 10

Re: Notes and Scene View for workspace

Post by trueBlue »

Show Object Attribs does not work for group objects with only 1 member, no error, it just does nothing
One member, being one object that is 3D Encapsulated?
If that is the case, it seems to work for me if that one member does not have ORA, using the Settings/Scene/Show Object Attribs button (Script) in the UU

User avatar
clintonman
Captain
Posts: 4635
Joined: 21 May 2009, 21:08
Type the number ten into the box: 0
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Notes and Scene View for workspace

Post by clintonman »

trueBlue wrote:
26 Jul 2022, 14:52
... if that one member does not have ORA, ...
Thanks for the tip. :bananathumb:
Clinton Reese

http://clintons3d.com

User avatar
clintonman
Captain
Posts: 4635
Joined: 21 May 2009, 21:08
Type the number ten into the box: 0
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Notes and Scene View for workspace

Post by clintonman »

WorkspaceNotes08.jpg
WorkspaceNotes08.jpg (28.99 KiB) Viewed 202 times

Ends up the "... work for me if that one member does not have ORA, using the Settings/Scene/Show Object Attribs button (Script) in the UU"
didn't work out for the Scene View because the visibility in that case is for the group member and not the group.

I was able to get it to display the view option properly. In the image "Object, 4" only has 1 member, so there is no eye. "Object, 5" has 2 cones so it show the eye. While working on object render attributes nodes I noticed that junk "Input Attributes" connectors are sometimes left behind. So for group visibility I start be removing all the "Object Render Attribute"and "Render Attribute" nodes and removed all the "Input Attribute" connectors. This approach may or may not make the UU visibility scripts better.

Started working on the NURBS. Next up is combining NURBS with groups. Once NURBS are fully working it should be close to done.
Clinton Reese

http://clintons3d.com

User avatar
trueBlue
Captain
Posts: 4224
Joined: 06 Jul 2009, 22:50
Type the number ten into the box: 10

Re: Notes and Scene View for workspace

Post by trueBlue »

It seems to be an issue with the native tS command when using it on an encapsulated object that only has one member
D3DView.ShowRenderAttribsForObject('', '')

User avatar
clintonman
Captain
Posts: 4635
Joined: 21 May 2009, 21:08
Type the number ten into the box: 0
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Notes and Scene View for workspace

Post by clintonman »

trueBlue wrote:
27 Jul 2022, 14:15
It seems to be an issue with the native tS command when using it on an encapsulated object that only has one member
D3DView.ShowRenderAttribsForObject('', '')
Yep, that's why I go in and remove all ORA and RA as a first step so it always works whether or not the member has an ORA.

Ideally, tS would create an ORA in the group and give the group member an RA node.
Clinton Reese

http://clintons3d.com

User avatar
trueBlue
Captain
Posts: 4224
Joined: 06 Jul 2009, 22:50
Type the number ten into the box: 10

Re: Notes and Scene View for workspace

Post by trueBlue »

Could you check if the group has only one member?
If so, then add the ORA panel to the group plus the other nodes and attributes?
Or an easier way, just add another temporary object, run the ORA command, and remove the temporary object

Been looking at the Object hider for Lights and Cameras
It looks like it is being used with tS widgets in with which tS toggles the Object hider's Invisible attribute off/on
Only if the Hide command connector is exported out

User avatar
clintonman
Captain
Posts: 4635
Joined: 21 May 2009, 21:08
Type the number ten into the box: 0
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Notes and Scene View for workspace

Post by clintonman »

trueBlue wrote:
27 Jul 2022, 16:01
Could you check if the group has only one member?
If so, then add the ORA panel to the group plus the other nodes and attributes?
Or an easier way, just add another temporary object, run the ORA command, and remove the temporary object

Been looking at the Object hider for Lights and Cameras
It looks like it is being used with tS widgets in with which tS toggles the Object hider's Invisible attribute off/on
Only if the Hide command connector is exported out
GroupOneMemberInception.jpg
GroupOneMemberInception.jpg (30.14 KiB) Viewed 208 times
It's possible but it would get messy going down a deep group and creating and connecting all the nodes manually. In this extreme example would have to go into the Object see that it has 1 member and add all the needed stuff and connect it up, then go down to the next se it has only 1 member and do the same and so on.
Clinton Reese

http://clintons3d.com

User avatar
trueBlue
Captain
Posts: 4224
Joined: 06 Jul 2009, 22:50
Type the number ten into the box: 10

Re: Notes and Scene View for workspace

Post by trueBlue »

Best I can tell, the ORA command does all the creating and connecting all the nodes
Even with deep grouped objects which accordingly to the Seal of good modeling is not recommended
You know better but it seems that deleting the user's predefined ORA nodes and or Workspace Layers setups may not be a very good idea

Question...
What is the purpose and or advantage of Parenting verses tS Grouping/Encapsulating?

User avatar
clintonman
Captain
Posts: 4635
Joined: 21 May 2009, 21:08
Type the number ten into the box: 0
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Notes and Scene View for workspace

Post by clintonman »

trueBlue wrote:
27 Jul 2022, 17:42
Best I can tell, the ORA command does all the creating and connecting all the nodes
Even with deep grouped objects which accordingly to the Seal of good modeling is not recommended
You know better but it seems that deleting the user's predefined ORA nodes and or Workspace Layers setups may not be a very good idea
I see. Because they may have other things set besides visible/invisible.

trueBlue wrote:
27 Jul 2022, 17:42
Question...
What is the purpose and or advantage of Parenting verses tS Grouping/Encapsulating?
Some other programs don't have a concept of 3D grouping and only support parenting structures. Others do groups differently. They attach the children to a common transform node without encapsulation and that's a group by their definition. Parenting in tS makes it possible to have complex hierarchies without the need for deep grouping. Some features of other programs expect parenting and don't work with groups. Like in game engines they may have a collision mesh for fast physics and if you define those collisions in your 3D program they must be parented to the mesh.
So basically it's so tS can export to other programs better and I think animation is better controlled with parenting than with groups.
GroupToParent0.jpg
GroupToParent0.jpg (27.43 KiB) Viewed 219 times
GroupToParent.jpg
GroupToParent.jpg (44.13 KiB) Viewed 219 times
Example of grouped object in tS converted to parenting in Blender. The Object does not have a transform node because it is a transform node and the Cubes are parented to it.
Clinton Reese

http://clintons3d.com

Post Reply