Workspace Layers v4

User avatar
trueBlue
Captain
Posts: 5206
Joined: 06 Jul 2009, 22:50
Type the number ten into the box: 10

Re: Workspace Layers v4

Post by trueBlue »

Previous versions of Workspace Layers always showed Layer0 & Layer1
This is not happening in Workspace Layers 4
Is this indented in this newest version?
4) I think there needs to be an option to clear all of the Layers in CustomCommands/wsLayersGroup4/workspacelayers4
Because, if you delete the workspacelayers4.RsObj in the scene and reload Layers it still has the preexisting data
With a new scene, load Workspace Layers 4
Close Workspace Layers 4 and delete everything in the scene
Load Workspace Layers 4
No objects in the scene.png
No objects in the scene.png (9.1 KiB) Viewed 3036 times
User avatar
clintonman
Captain
Posts: 5422
Joined: 21 May 2009, 21:08
Type the number ten into the box: 0
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Workspace Layers v4

Post by clintonman »

trueBlue wrote: 23 Apr 2021, 20:06 Previous versions of Workspace Layers always showed Layer0 & Layer1
This is not happening in Workspace Layers 4
Is this indented in this newest version?
4) I think there needs to be an option to clear all of the Layers in CustomCommands/wsLayersGroup4/workspacelayers4
Because, if you delete the workspacelayers4.RsObj in the scene and reload Layers it still has the preexisting data
With a new scene, load Workspace Layers 4
Close Workspace Layers 4 and delete everything in the scene
Load Workspace Layers 4
No objects in the scene.png
"indented"? I'm guessing "intended". Previous versions had layers 0 to 31 always showing.

http://clintons3d.com/plugins/truespace ... yers4.html
"Refresh button is for updating the display after deleting, creating or loading new items into the scene."

The layers does not keep track of scene changes so you have to refresh it.
Clinton Reese

http://clintons3d.com
User avatar
trueBlue
Captain
Posts: 5206
Joined: 06 Jul 2009, 22:50
Type the number ten into the box: 10

Re: Workspace Layers v4

Post by trueBlue »

Should have said "Workspace Layers 4"
"Previous versions of Workspace Layers 4 always showed Layer0 & Layer1"
User avatar
clintonman
Captain
Posts: 5422
Joined: 21 May 2009, 21:08
Type the number ten into the box: 0
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Workspace Layers v4

Post by clintonman »

Does the Object hider node inside the cameras and spotlights do anything useful?

When I remove them I can barely just see the spotlight mesh behind the spotlight widget and I can't see the camera mesh behind the camera widget at all.
Clinton Reese

http://clintons3d.com
User avatar
trueBlue
Captain
Posts: 5206
Joined: 06 Jul 2009, 22:50
Type the number ten into the box: 10

Re: Workspace Layers v4

Post by trueBlue »

clintonman wrote: 25 Apr 2021, 01:04 Does the Object hider node inside the cameras and spotlights do anything useful?

When I remove them I can barely just see the spotlight mesh behind the spotlight widget and I can't see the camera mesh behind the camera widget at all.
The only thing I notice is, if the Camera or Spot light is selected while rendering, it does not show in the image
If it is removed, it shows regardless if it is selected or not
User avatar
clintonman
Captain
Posts: 5422
Joined: 21 May 2009, 21:08
Type the number ten into the box: 0
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Workspace Layers v4

Post by clintonman »

workspacelayers4_7.jpg

In the process of adding full group support, meaning It will work with deeply nested groups properly. The new Grp column gives some group counts.
Layer0 in the image has a Cnt of 14 and Grp of 3(12) which in English translates to 14 visible objects with 12 of the objects inside 3 groups. So if you select the layer you will have 5 objects selected, 3 group objects plus 2 loose items.

Layers 0 and 1 are now always visible in the layers list.
The camera and lights object hider is disconnected. This makes it easier to make changes to the code and easier to show and hide them. The plan is to add a button that will reconnect them if desired. If cameras or lights are placed in groups the object hider gets disconnected anyway when you change the appearance of the layer or hide it. So for cameras and lights in groups it may be necessary to treat them as if they are not inside a group so that the object hider can be reconnected. More testing is needed.

Also fixed some bugs:

works with old lights from the Night Church scene
Refresh button bug - was increasing the no layer count with each press
remove layer had a bug and I don't know why it wasn't giving errors
add to layer the backfaces and hidden lines settings weren't being transferred

TODO: slightly bigger Grp column, smaller BF and HL columns, update the locking code with full group support
Clinton Reese

http://clintons3d.com
User avatar
trueBlue
Captain
Posts: 5206
Joined: 06 Jul 2009, 22:50
Type the number ten into the box: 10

Re: Workspace Layers v4

Post by trueBlue »

Group support sounds great! :worship:

I am getting an Error when switching aspects Default/Small after selecting the Reload button
WL4 LayerJS Error after Reload switching aspects.png
WL4 LayerJS Error after Reload switching aspects.png (8.75 KiB) Viewed 3036 times
Edit: Forgot to mention that selecting Yes or No stops Workspace Layers 4 from working

I also created another option to load Workspace Layers4 in the Small aspect
Small_UI.png
Small_UI.png (6.92 KiB) Viewed 3035 times
loadIt script
Add

Code: Select all

var Small = Node.Value(owner + "/workspacelayers4", "Small_UI")
if(Small) {
WindowsManager.SetPanelWindowAspect('/Project/Windows Manager Space/LayersPanelFrame', 4)
WindowsManager.Activate()
WindowsManager.UpdateWindowsStructure()
}
User avatar
clintonman
Captain
Posts: 5422
Joined: 21 May 2009, 21:08
Type the number ten into the box: 0
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Workspace Layers v4

Post by clintonman »

I think I got the last of the 2D and 3D group bugs worked out. The locking seems to be working so no changes needed there.
Added the small UI option, thanks for that :bananathumb: , looks like the trick is to change the window to small and not try to create the window as small.

TODO:
slightly bigger Grp column, smaller BF and HL columns,
add button to reestablish the object hider node for cameras/lights and
update the NURBS support which is likely broken after all the group related changes
Clinton Reese

http://clintons3d.com
User avatar
trueBlue
Captain
Posts: 5206
Joined: 06 Jul 2009, 22:50
Type the number ten into the box: 10

Re: Workspace Layers v4

Post by trueBlue »

Really amazing project Clinton! :bananathumb:
Currently testing...
One thing I notice with the ReconnectObjectHiders script
You will get multiple connections
Add
Node.Disconnect(currentNode + "/Object hider", "Invisible", currentNode + "/Object Render Attributes", "Invisible")

I see you are capturing the websocket error and it seems to work
Alert says to Close and Open the Webserver
I also have to select the Reload button
Wondering if you could could preform all three functions in the script, instead of the Alert?

The Small aspect's Color control is different in this version
Before
workspaceLayers4_small.jpg
workspaceLayers4_small.jpg (38.82 KiB) Viewed 2958 times
After
Small aspect Color control.png
Small aspect Color control.png (4.38 KiB) Viewed 2958 times
User avatar
clintonman
Captain
Posts: 5422
Joined: 21 May 2009, 21:08
Type the number ten into the box: 0
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Workspace Layers v4

Post by clintonman »

trueBlue wrote: 04 May 2021, 17:02 Really amazing project Clinton! :bananathumb:
Currently testing...
One thing I notice with the ReconnectObjectHiders script
You will get multiple connections
Add
Node.Disconnect(currentNode + "/Object hider", "Invisible", currentNode + "/Object Render Attributes", "Invisible")

I see you are capturing the websocket error and it seems to work
Alert says to Close and Open the Webserver
I also have to select the Reload button
Wondering if you could could preform all three functions in the script, instead of the Alert?

The Small aspect's Color control is different in this version
Before
workspaceLayers4_small.jpg
After
Small aspect Color control.png
Thanks, I'll take care of the object hider connections issue.
Nope, can't do anything outside the alert. It lives in a completely different world than the rest of trueSpace.
That color control is a challenge, I'll see what I can do, should be able to bash it into shape.
Clinton Reese

http://clintons3d.com
Post Reply