Tinkering with Alpha Masks

tahnoak
Master Chief Petty Officer

Tinkering with Alpha Masks

Post by tahnoak »

I know everybody else on here knows how to use these things but I am just learning, yeah that's right, just learning how to create these and use them. I know....I know... that is learned right before Modeling 101 :) Told ya I was a noobie

Here is a screenie. It is not great but I can see how easy it is to work on dirtying up my textures now!!!
Attachments
Building1.jpg
Finis
Captain
Type the number ten into the box: 0

Re: Tinkering with Alpha Masks

Post by Finis »

How about a mini-tutorial here (a few how to pics and brief explanation)?
Mice die in traps because they don't know why the cheese is free. -- seen on a bumper sticker
tahnoak

Post by tahnoak »

Finis wrote:How about a mini-tutorial here (a few how to pics and brief explanation)?
I can do that. I never thought I would be doing a tutorial..ha! Let me get the kids fed and off to bed then tonight I should be able to put something coherent together for those who may be interested or can point out different ways of doing what I was doing.
tahnoak

Post by tahnoak »

Finis wrote:How about a mini-tutorial here (a few how to pics and brief explanation)?

Put something together last night and this morning. Take a look.

http://united3dartists.com/forum/vi ... =13&t=1092
tahnoak

Post by tahnoak »

Cleaning it up and working on multiple layers of masks in GIMP. All in all I think it is coming along nicely. I will add another building to the right a little offset with some different masks.

I may have to change this to a full WIP :D
Attachments
Building1b.jpg
Breech Block

Post by Breech Block »

This is great work, tahnoak. :bananacool2:

The textures look really well done. Are they all together on one texture map or have you applied them individually?

You should make an entire village and place it on Turbosquid.
tahnoak

Post by tahnoak »

Breech Block wrote:This is great work, tahnoak. :bananacool2: