Christmas Card 2022

Finis
Captain
Type the number ten into the box: 0

Christmas Card 2022

Post by Finis »

This thread is for my animated Christmas card project which began in 2019.

The goal is a short film not a CG object representing a paper Christmas card. Some parts of the videos will be customized for each recipient. I hope I'm not overly ambitious and can finish this before Christmas.

The theme is toys come to life. A toy train carrying presents winds through the scene. Two action figure toys oppose each other as one tries to stop the train and the other to ensure its arrival.

I'm studying Blender's NLA editor. Its user interface is even worse than the rest of pre-2.8 Blender and has not been improved for 2.8.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=84ALxrtBkps

Since I'll use a lot of time learning and animating I'll kit bash items from many of my old projects. I'll also sign up at BlendSwap.

More when I've achieved anything to report.
Last edited by Finis on 16 Nov 2022, 15:22, edited 5 times in total.
Mice die in traps because they don't know why the cheese is free. -- seen on a bumper sticker
RAYMAN
Captain

Re: Christmas Card 2019

Post by RAYMAN »

This is what you want to look into!
https://youtu.be/HsOSDYTsG7o
Finis
Captain

Post by Finis »

@Rayman Yes! I'll make the train track and train motion curved based. Played with curves months ago for a roller coaster and curves are cool.

Still much work for my job so mostly learning, planning, and experimenting now. The grass will be dormant soon and I'll have more free time.