Any way to fix modelside bugs under Win 10 ?

Legacy tS 6.6
Post Reply
User avatar
Cellulo
Chief Warrant Officer
Posts: 727
Joined: 27 Sep 2012, 07:48
Type the number ten into the box: 9
Location: France
Contact:

Any way to fix modelside bugs under Win 10 ?

Post by Cellulo » 08 Jun 2017, 09:34

Hi all, recently i got a new computer with Windows 10, i have decided to make a new and the last version of my modelside edition with some recents stuff and fixes inside, but i encounter several bugs in the Modelside when i make some test, the one that i have all time is the screen that freeze and not responsive until i change the render display to opengl and go back to direct 3D, the second bug is on the blue cage selection tool, the cage disappear around the 3d object, i fix it when i change the display render to opengl and go back to direct 3D like the screen freeze bug, it's really annoying.

One question if we have to much plugins loaded in the UI, this will decrease the stability of the modelside under Windows 10 ?

I want to learn Blender but always i go back to the modelside, the UI of trueSpace really reflect my needs as i'm 3D hobbyst but the modelside bugs under Windows 10 discourage me to go further because when i do something inside the modelside for some little 3D test or basic 3D editing, i got a big crash of the Modelside, my graphic driver is updated in last version, same thing for Windows 10, i have also set the compatibility to Windows XP sp3 on the trueSpace 's exectutable file, if someone have some tricks to share to incrase the stability it's will be cool.

User avatar
Emmanuel
Master Chief Petty Officer
Posts: 447
Joined: 14 Jun 2009, 06:47

Re: Any way to fix modelside bugs under Win 10 ?

Post by Emmanuel » 09 Jun 2017, 12:07

Display bugs look like driver issues. It is not relative to the OS... Did you installed or updated your graphic card drivers, or are you using Windows 10's native drivers ?

User avatar
Cellulo
Chief Warrant Officer
Posts: 727
Joined: 27 Sep 2012, 07:48
Type the number ten into the box: 9
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Any way to fix modelside bugs under Win 10 ?

Post by Cellulo » 09 Jun 2017, 13:08

I use the last driver 382.33 for my nvidia geforce gtx 1060, but i have the same issue with the previous nvidia driver, in fact since i bought this new PC.

Just for information under Carrara studio 6 and 7 i have a problem with the 3d view when rotating, the whole view shake all time if i rotate a object or 3d view, i don't have problem under Hexagon and blender but i want work under modelside.

Edit: i forget to say it's under Windows 10 creators update.

User avatar
Emmanuel
Master Chief Petty Officer
Posts: 447
Joined: 14 Jun 2009, 06:47

Re: Any way to fix modelside bugs under Win 10 ?

Post by Emmanuel » 09 Jun 2017, 14:44

You could try to plug an other graphic card or use the motherboard HDMI display port if it exists ; just to check if the same problem occurs with every type of display driver...

User avatar
Cellulo
Chief Warrant Officer
Posts: 727
Joined: 27 Sep 2012, 07:48
Type the number ten into the box: 9
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Any way to fix modelside bugs under Win 10 ?

Post by Cellulo » 09 Jun 2017, 17:21

I will try the new driver nvidia 382.53 that out today and make new test in the modelside.

Thanks Emmanuel for answers, i will try your advice in last resort if really this bug appear too often or i build a new PC with my two old PC.

User avatar
bitkar
Lieutenant Commander
Posts: 1094
Joined: 16 Mar 2010, 07:14
Type the number ten into the box: 0
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: Any way to fix modelside bugs under Win 10 ?

Post by bitkar » 16 Dec 2017, 12:21

my tS now crashes after start (propably after some Win10 update). It displays some crashing (ts caused unhandled exception) msg but in the background it works. Had it reinstalled, but still. Iam fighting with it.

Btw. tS cannot DX render more than like 2000 px width viewport. If you shrink tS a bit, it works normally in DX, only thing i have odd is that DX is swithed to RGB emulation and not HAL.

EDIT: I got it! it was caused by new AMD video drivers, the new Adrenalin edition. I wonder if it does with newer cars than mine (HD8780). I plan to buy Vega or 580, so i wonder if new drivers work with those cards regarding tS.
Michal aka bitkar
tS freak since tS2 (1998) and forever

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest