camera to get rid of distortion

bkjernisted
Chief Petty Officer

camera to get rid of distortion

Post by bkjernisted » 27 May 2009, 02:41

Prodigy is this possible in LW. Did anyone implement the 35mm camera you have talked about before. I don't understand any of this because I'm new to it. I think Jack mentioned that yafaray has the feature to get rid of distortion.. Has anyone seen the renders of Fryrender. Pretty amazing. I was looking at c4d renders and almost everyone except for the work of one architect, had artifacts or jagged edges along straight surfaces. Anyways check out fryrender and tell me what you think. Maybe someone could make a plugin for it.Iso/Axono-metric Camera For 7.5 by Dele; is this useful for getting rid of distortion. Will Yafaray render anywhere near as well as fryrender does.

First Light
Senior Chief Petty Officer
Type the number ten into the box: 0

Re: camera to get rid of distortion

Post by First Light » 27 May 2009, 03:29

Hi bkjernisted,

I think I understand that you want to minimize certain types of distortion when a scene is rendered. Obtaining a high-quality renderer can go a long way to reduce many forms of distortion.

But some readers of this thread may misunderstand the general subject of "spacial distortion". It is impossible to remove ALL spacial distortion. Cartographers have understood this for centuries. Whenever a three-dimensional space is "mapped" onto a two-dimensional image, you must accept some form of spacial distortion. Many different methods (called "projections") have been developed to create wide-view maps that accept different forms of distortion depending on the purpose of the map. We've all seen these maps every time we view a flat map of the entire earth.