Workflow..and TS..

User avatar
RAYMAN
Captain
Posts: 2273
Joined: 21 May 2009, 18:56

Re: Workflow..and TS..

Post by RAYMAN » 27 Nov 2018, 11:00

Renderman from Pixar is very very well integrated into Blender!!!!!
It has so many settings!!!!!
We need a Blender exporter for modelside!!!!
That takes care of all the problems!!!!!!
With scene city it even has a very affordable city generator that works well and is node based!
Even prorender is free for Blender and Otoys Oktane release 4 will be free for 2 cores for Blender not for the big 5!!!

User avatar
trueBlue
Captain
Posts: 2170
Joined: 06 Jul 2009, 22:50
Type the number ten into the box: 10

Re: Workflow..and TS..

Post by trueBlue » 27 Nov 2018, 15:22

splinters wrote:
25 Nov 2018, 21:53
Anyone managed to get Dribble working? It installed fine but just get the black screen when rendering.

Clinton's website:
http://clintons3d.com/plugins/truespace ... ibble.html

clintonman
Captain
Posts: 2922
Joined: 21 May 2009, 21:08
Type the number ten into the box: 0
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Workflow..and TS..

Post by clintonman » 29 Nov 2018, 01:45

Emmanuel wrote:
23 Nov 2018, 18:55
...

- There is no way to render animation because the RIB export only work with current frame. Maybe an update of Dribble options panel could add the option ? Clinton, what do you think ?
It looks like the "animated" rib files are already there in a none working form. Might get it working but...
One important point is that this won't work with the newest 3Delight version. It seems to be using a new way to define scenes with nsi files so the rib files won't work with it.
Clinton Reese

http://clintons3d.com


clintonman
Captain
Posts: 2922
Joined: 21 May 2009, 21:08
Type the number ten into the box: 0
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Workflow..and TS..

Post by clintonman » 29 Nov 2018, 19:38

Yep, that's what I've been reading. Instead of renderman rib and sl files it uses nodal scene nsi and open shading language osl files.
Clinton Reese

http://clintons3d.com

User avatar
RAYMAN
Captain
Posts: 2273
Joined: 21 May 2009, 18:56

Re: Workflow..and TS..

Post by RAYMAN » 30 Nov 2018, 00:24

Which again probably sooner then later will be part of a project..for....Blender! Sooner then one gets Dribble2!😏

User avatar
trueBlue
Captain
Posts: 2170
Joined: 06 Jul 2009, 22:50
Type the number ten into the box: 10

Re: Workflow..and TS..

Post by trueBlue » 30 Nov 2018, 23:04

:evil:
Would very awesome if we could export out an image and or a sequence images out of Dribble to a folder, in with which could be rendered using 3Delight 64 bit. Over coming trueSpace 7.61's 2G limit!

I may be way off here :oops: but has anybody tried a Dribble RIB file in Blender?

User avatar
RAYMAN
Captain
Posts: 2273
Joined: 21 May 2009, 18:56

Re: Workflow..and TS..

Post by RAYMAN » 01 Dec 2018, 10:40

Nope because I didnt have dribble installed anymore..but Pixar Renderman is free for personal and is awsome!
I googled yesterday and found an old python plugin for Blender 2.34 called io exporter that can read and write cob and some others.. and read TS SCN! I will have a try at that one..for starters!
I will also try Dribble but that may take some time
http://scorpius.github.io/blender-plugins.htm

User avatar
Emmanuel
Master Chief Petty Officer
Posts: 550
Joined: 14 Jun 2009, 06:47

Re: Workflow..and TS..

Post by Emmanuel » 01 Dec 2018, 12:42

I've just downloaded and installed Renderman 22 free version. That's easy : you just have to register to their forum and the ID/password are used to download the installer.

I've created a rib file (test.rib) and saved the file in the Renderman installation forder to follow this tutorial but the command line does nothing. It tells me it can't open my rib file.
cmd.jpg
Any idea ?

User avatar
RAYMAN
Captain
Posts: 2273
Joined: 21 May 2009, 18:56

Re: Workflow..and TS..

Post by RAYMAN » 01 Dec 2018, 16:09

Nope not that way!!! Not command line ..you need the renderman plugin for Blender its fully integrated solution like cycles! You can access it through the dropdown below cycles and Blenderrender! It can load rib through a button!!!😏

https://github.com/prman-pixar/RenderManForBlender

Post Reply