How to use V-Ray on tS76 STD ?

User avatar
trueBlue
Captain
Posts: 5208
Joined: 06 Jul 2009, 22:50
Type the number ten into the box: 10

Re: How to use V-Ray on tS76 STD ?

Post by trueBlue »

Is the code for your Vray Material Editor to reset color using this command?
Vray.ResetMaterialEditorShader('Color');
This works in tS761 but causes an error in tS761Std. Well in Win10 anyway. Not sure in other operating systems.
Would be nice if you could confirm this!

Here is what I have observed when you switch material editors and or reset the default context.
VrayDefault Shaders.PNG
and here it is after I apply material I created that has all four shaders set
VrayDefault ShadersReset.PNG
stan
Master Chief Petty Officer
Posts: 580
Joined: 21 May 2009, 17:20

Re: How to use V-Ray on tS76 STD ?

Post by stan »

this is the code which works in win 7 64bit:
Vray.ResetMaterialEditorShader('Color');
I don't know anything about win 10 but maybe it prefers you use "
Vray.ResetMaterialEditorShader("Color");
I suppose then none of these will work on 10
Vray.ResetMaterialEditorShader('Reflectance');
Vray.ResetMaterialEditorShader('Transparency');
Vray.ResetMaterialEditorShader('Displacement');
these are all copied directly from the working node.
User avatar
trueBlue
Captain
Posts: 5208
Joined: 06 Jul 2009, 22:50
Type the number ten into the box: 10

Re: How to use V-Ray on tS76 STD ?

Post by trueBlue »

Thanks stan,
Very odd that it works in Win7 and not Win10 for tS761Std.
Works in tS761 with Win10. Crazy!
I'm I missing something?

LwME.dll to C:\trueSpace761Std\
Vray.rsobj to C:\trueSpace761Std\Scripts\preobjects\
LwME folder to C:\trueSpace761Std\Scripts\
Vray Materials to C:\trueSpace761Std\Rs Main Libraries\
Textures folder to C:\trueSpace761Std\
Add -> RsApp.ImportPackage('LwME.dll'); to init.js
stan
Master Chief Petty Officer
Posts: 580
Joined: 21 May 2009, 17:20

Re: How to use V-Ray on tS76 STD ?

Post by stan »

well, you put vray materials in the Rs Main Libraries but did you put the Vray Shaders - Color
- Displacement
- Reflectance
-Transparency
in also.? or did you just not list them with material?
That's the only thing I see.
color.jpg
User avatar
trueBlue
Captain
Posts: 5208
Joined: 06 Jul 2009, 22:50
Type the number ten into the box: 10

Re: How to use V-Ray on tS76 STD ?

Post by trueBlue »

Yes Vray Shaders too.
Thanks for your help!
Found a way to survive a Reset Default Context, by saving the MaterialEditor with the ActiveMaterial set.
Also found a solution to Reseting Shaders by catching the error.

Code: Select all

try
{
{
Vray.ResetMaterialEditorShader('Color');
}

}
catch (e)
{
}
And to reset the shaders if the above does not work by including a Vray Material for Color and Texture.
User avatar
trueBlue
Captain
Posts: 5208
Joined: 06 Jul 2009, 22:50
Type the number ten into the box: 10

Re: How to use V-Ray on tS76 STD ?

Post by trueBlue »

Just noticed a bug in the Vray material editor and found a solution
When switching Material Editors the Vray Material Editor applies a Black material
VRayME.png
VRayME.png (26.55 KiB) Viewed 2775 times
Add the following to each of the material slot's - Right click command or Load/Inspect a Vray Material

Code: Select all

//Material Preview
//Default.RsLWm included in the tS7.61B8StdVray Update - Required 
D3DView.DropObject(System.GetMainDir() + '\\RS Main Libraries\\Vray Materials\\Default.RsLWm', '/Project/Windows Manager Space/Frame Window/Border Docking Place/Frame Window, 1/Split Docking Place/Frame Window, 1/Split Docking Place/Frame Window, 1/Split Docking Place/Frame Window, 2/Background', 0.000000, 0.000000, 0.000000);

//Color
D3DView.DropObject(System.GetMainDir() + '\\RS Main Libraries\\Vray Shaders - Color\\Plain Color.RsCSh', '/Project/Windows Manager Space/Frame Window/Border Docking Place/Frame Window, 1/Split Docking Place/Frame Window, 1/Split Docking Place/Frame Window, 1/Split Docking Place/Frame Window, 2/Background', 0.000000, 0.000000, 0.000000);

//Reflectance
//Reflection.RsCSh included in the tS7.61B8StdVray Update - Required
D3DView.DropObject(System.GetMainDir() + '\\RS Main Libraries\\Vray Shaders - Reflectance\\Reflection.RsCSh', '/Project/Windows Manager Space/Frame Window/Border Docking Place/Frame Window, 1/Split Docking Place/Frame Window, 1/Split Docking Place/Frame Window, 1/Split Docking Place/Frame Window, 2/Background', 0.000000, 0.000000, 0.000000);

//Transparency
D3DView.DropObject(System.GetMainDir() + '\\RS Main Libraries\\Vray Shaders - Transparency\\None Transparency.RsCSh', '/Project/Windows Manager Space/Frame Window/Border Docking Place/Frame Window, 1/Split Docking Place/Frame Window, 1/Split Docking Place/Frame Window, 1/Split Docking Place/Frame Window, 2/Background', 0.000000, 0.000000, 0.000000);

//Displacement
D3DView.DropObject(System.GetMainDir() + '\\RS Main Libraries\\Vray Shaders - Displacement\\None Displacement.RsCSh', '/Project/Windows Manager Space/Frame Window/Border Docking Place/Frame Window, 1/Split Docking Place/Frame Window, 1/Split Docking Place/Frame Window, 1/Split Docking Place/Frame Window, 2/Background', 0.000000, 0.000000, 0.000000);

//Refresh Material Editor
MeshModifiers.OpenMaterialEditor();
Vray for trueSpace 7.61 Standalone
Update uploaded 8/11/2020
https://united3dartists.com/forum/viewt ... 259#p52259
User avatar
trueBlue
Captain
Posts: 5208
Joined: 06 Jul 2009, 22:50
Type the number ten into the box: 10

Re: How to use V-Ray on tS76 STD ?

Post by trueBlue »

I found the following information in a VRay.pdf
Rendering Options

Rendering Quality:
• Wireframe: Not supported under V-Ray.
• Hidden Line: Not supported under V-Ray
• Medium: This renders with textures taken directly from the Workspace, which gives fast
rendering with medium quality. Note that the Workspace textures can be down sampled
resulting in loss of details on textured surfaces.
• High: This renders with full size textures and gives the best possible quality, although there is
potentially longer start-up and rendering times as a result of the larger memory requirements
from the larger textures. Note that there is no difference between Medium or High settings in
scenes which have use no textures.
Render Method: This has no effect on rendering with V-Ray. It is suggested that this is left set to
RayCast to ensure equivalent results should you switch to another render engine.

Anti-Aliasing:
• Draft: Very fast rendering with the width and height of the image reduced in half. Suitable for
fast previews.
• None: No anti-aliasing. Fast, but jagged edges will appear in the image.
• 2X: Super-sampling with 2x2 kernel. Every pixel is computed as an average of 4 sample
points.
• 3X: Super-sampling with 3x3 kernel. Every pixel is computed as an average of 9 sample
points.
• 4X: Super-sampling with 2x2 kernel. Every pixel is computed as an average of 16 sample
points.
• Adaptive: Very high quality analytical anti-aliasing for superior image quality.
Adaptive is the suggested optimal anti-aliasing setting. Note that adding anti-aliasing will result in
longer render times, with 4X anti-aliasing being slowest of all. Adaptive should give better results that
2x anti-aliasing, and with faster render times. 3X and 4X anti-aliasing may give better results than
Adaptive (although Adaptive can often match those in quality), but with longer render times.

Triangulate: This has no effect on rendering with V-Ray.
Multithread: Enable or disable support for multiple processors or processors with HyperThreading
technology.
SingleSide: Enable or disable support for single-sided rendering. When single sided rendering is
selected (the box is checked) then normals are not corrected to face the illumination direction, which
results in slightly faster rendering but may reveal artifacts caused by back-facing surfaces. Double-sided rendering (when the box is unchecked) adjusts the normals to be always facing the illumination
direction, which removes the chance of artefacts in the render, but at the expense of a slightly longer
render time.

Raytracing Options:
• Enabled: Turn or off reflection and refraction in the scene.
• Max Depth: The level of recursion for tracing rays. A higher value will result in slower but
more accurate rendering of reflective and (especially) refractive surfaces.
• Min. Contrib: This parameter is for limiting the amount of reflections in the scene and is
directly related to the “reflection” value of a material. When that value is lower than the Min.
Contrib. setting, no reflections will be calculated for that object
• Limit: This value controls how much a ray has to contribute to the scene to be included in the
final rendering calculations. Increasing this value can reduce rendering time at the expense of
accuracy.

Background
• Color: A single color is used as the background. The color itself can be set by right clicking on
the icon in the Rendering Options Toolbar.
• Image: An image is used as the background (stretched to fit the screen). The image to use as
the background can be set by right clicking on the icon under the Rendering Options Toolbar.
• Clouds: This is not supported under V-Ray. Only the Background color from the Clouds
settings would be used, so the Color background option should be used instead.
• Graduated: This is not supported under V-Ray. Only the Top color from the Graduated
settings would be used, so the Color background option should be used instead.
So, I exposed the Vray supported attributes
PhotoRender for Rosetta.png
PhotoRender for Rosetta.png (8.27 KiB) Viewed 1267 times
The Background aspect is not shown
Post Reply