3 moniters 2 pcs

Technical questions, etc..
Post Reply
pugman 1
Captain
Posts: 1554
Joined: 21 May 2009, 19:26
Type the number ten into the box: 0
Location: Germany

3 moniters 2 pcs

Post by pugman 1 »

Ok can someone help . What i would like to do is set up my new pc with 2 moniters so that
they come on when i turn on the pc,my other pc i am setting up for a gaming system ,can i use the 2 mointers plus a third moniter
to come on when i turn on that pc , only one pc will be on at any one time .
Is this possible ?
Cheers ralph

v3rd3
Lieutenant Commander
Posts: 1144
Joined: 21 May 2009, 20:04

Re: 3 moniters 2 pcs

Post by v3rd3 »

Monitor power switches are separate and distinct from the PC power on switch.

The only way to turn on a PC and monitor at the same time used to be to plug them into the same power bar and use the power bar switch to turn them on. Modern PC's have a power switch that must be pressed to turn on the computer after you have run a shut down sequence.

I have my rig plugged into an APC UPS and just let it go to sleep during the day. I only run a shutdown at the end of the day. I also turn off the monitor cuz they eat a little bit of power when they are in sleep mode.

hth

pugman 1
Captain
Posts: 1554
Joined: 21 May 2009, 19:26
Type the number ten into the box: 0
Location: Germany

Re: 3 moniters 2 pcs

Post by pugman 1 »

HI v3rd3, i think you misunderstood me sorry. what i ment was 3 moniters all linked together
when i turn on my workstation pc i can use all 3. if i turn on my gaiming pc i can use the same 3,of course not at the same time.

jamesmc
Captain
Posts: 1776
Joined: 08 Jul 2009, 15:35

Re: 3 moniters 2 pcs

Post by jamesmc »

Shareware program from Synergy that might do what you want. It's a network app.

http://synergy-foss.org/" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

Demonstration on YouTube

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fJcX1D4hivY" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
Walk by faith, not by sight.

User avatar
Draise
Captain
Posts: 3166
Joined: 21 Sep 2009, 19:33
Type the number ten into the box: 0
Location: Bogota, Colombia
Contact:

Re: 3 moniters 2 pcs

Post by Draise »

The product Synergy is awesome! I am sure this will come in handy if I have a renderfarm or a multi workstation! Nice!.. Just need lot's of monitors....

pugman 1
Captain
Posts: 1554
Joined: 21 May 2009, 19:26
Type the number ten into the box: 0
Location: Germany

Re: 3 moniters 2 pcs

Post by pugman 1 »

Still not what im looking for .
iv got the awnser thou .i must use on my gaming machine the eye infinity on the vidio card.
and on my workstation pc i just have to conect the cables to the same 3 monters .
i only use one pc at any given time, so this works . cool

v3rd3
Lieutenant Commander
Posts: 1144
Joined: 21 May 2009, 20:04

Re: 3 moniters 2 pcs

Post by v3rd3 »


pugman 1
Captain
Posts: 1554
Joined: 21 May 2009, 19:26
Type the number ten into the box: 0
Location: Germany

Re: 3 moniters 2 pcs

Post by pugman 1 »

Finaly got it sorted , three of these
http://www.amazon.de/Acer-S275HLbmii-Ze ... 818&sr=8-9" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
they are set up in eye efinity with my asus 7970 matrix card on my new gaming rig .it look and is Awsome .
The moniters are also conected to my 3d pc for animation work .
All conections are with hdmi cables and two active display port adapters

Post Reply