Faux SSS translucency shader setup - WIP

Draise
Captain
Type the number ten into the box: 0

Faux SSS translucency shader setup - WIP

Post by Draise »

Realtime SSS translucency in GLSL - experimenting.

Hi guys, as mentioned in the Blender Forum, I have embarked on an obsessive frenzy to try implement a realtime fake SSS shader for the BGE - as I can't download anything to help me with that, nor find any good tutorials. Why am I doing this? As I am a fan of trueSpace 7.61 beta 8's (eol'd) DirectX shaders - including realtime fake SSS which are surprisingly really good - considering it's DirectX9 now 5 years old. So I tried to reproduce it, scoured the internet for hours on end, and finally attempted to make my own version.

So this is a shader node tree for GLSL- as I am still new to learning GLSL logic or Python logic - and unfortunately doesn't work with the BGE just yet..... but does work for Blenders OpenGl preview engine. Renders like 2 or 3 frames per second to file - but it's realtime in the viewport.

The basic concept was using the Local Normals on an inverted colour for an Fresnel (diffuse ramp of a material) mask to create two different biased fresnel translucence on surface only. One for the blood layer, and the other for the fat layer - sub-dermis and dermis.

I then combined them with a epidermis, and viola!

I also used a Dirty Vertex colour input to help blend in exaggerated SSS effects (could be hand painted) on the ears and some parts of the character, black being more translucent (which works from all angles, does not consider object occlusion.. yet). This is very useful for things like ears or fingers of flaps of skin, or even the tip of the nose.

Images!

Here is the shadertree I used.

Here is an example video: