Rendering all colors into textures?

Game Engines, Projects and more
slicer4ever
Petty Officer Second Class

Rendering all colors into textures?

Post by slicer4ever » 28 Sep 2009, 21:34

hello, i'm new to this forum, i've been using truespace for a while now and can model some things but i'm still fairly limited in what i can do.

now then onto my problem, i'm also a game developer in c/++, and i've written a .x format parser since .x format encompasses my needs, and i use openGL for rendering, upon writing the parser i determined that it would be easier to force all my models to contain a texture rather than allowing both to run seamlessly this was done for speed reasons and was the best choice, however i'm now at a point where i have two options

the first option is to use the exported model and determine if a material does not have a texture, if it doesn't then i will use it's given vertex colors and manually create a texture in memory so that each object does not go without a texture

the second option is the one i would rather go with, which is telling truespace to take any plain color materials and rather than in the .x format specifying a color to instead actually create a texture out of the color and then link to that texture as if i had used a plain color for a texture

if the latter option isn't possible then i'll simply go with the first, and i do hope i made my question clear, if not i can try explaining it better, and sorry if this is in the wrong section.

edit: i feel really stupid, i've been exporting with truespace 6 direct x implementation, which is what my parser is based on, i just realized the truespace 7.6 menu exports differently, meaning that my parser is now dependent on only truespace's direct x 6 implementation, so i'm going to have to write a parser for a diffrent format, the rsObj format looks nice but i can't find any specifications on it, any help appreciated

tamtam
Petty Officer First Class

Re: Rendering all colors into textures?