How do you get animated models from Maya to DarkBasicPro?

Game Engines, Projects and more
Post Reply
User avatar
tamtam
Petty Officer First Class
Posts: 43
Joined: 26 Aug 2009, 19:13

How do you get animated models from Maya to DarkBasicPro?

Post by tamtam » 22 Jan 2010, 00:08

I want to know how people here export animated 3d models from Maya 2009, or some version close to version 2009, into Dark Basic Pro for the programming of any game. I have Maya Unlimited 2009, and Dark Basic Pro, and the problem is I cannot find a free plugin that exports models from Maya 2009 in .x or .3ds format for use in Dark Basic Pro for programming. Anyone have any ideas? Please?

Thanks a bunch to anyone who can help me.

v3rd3
Lieutenant Commander
Posts: 1103
Joined: 21 May 2009, 20:04

Re: How do you get animated models from Maya to DarkBasicPro?

Post by v3rd3 » 22 Jan 2010, 05:24

Try here to get started.... http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/pc ... id=8224926

This will give you fbx, 3ds, obj and collada back and forth.

User avatar
tamtam
Petty Officer First Class
Posts: 43
Joined: 26 Aug 2009, 19:13

Re: How do you get animated models from Maya to DarkBasicPro?

Post by tamtam » 22 Jan 2010, 19:31

I tried the download you reccomended, and it can import all the formats, and it can export them too, but the only format it doesn't export, but only imports, is .3ds. This is a problem for me because I love Maya, and I wish to make my models in it and export them directly to a format like .x or .3ds, which Dark Basic Pro supports. I also tried something called "cvXporter", and I tried the latest version (1.3 I think), and I couldn't even get the plugin to load in Maya 2009. It's supposed to be able to export .x files from Maya.

Any other ideas anyone... please?

Thanks again.

v3rd3
Lieutenant Commander
Posts: 1103
Joined: 21 May 2009, 20:04

Re: How do you get animated models from Maya to DarkBasicPro?

Post by v3rd3 » 23 Jan 2010, 09:41

Ok, try exporting to Collada... import the Collada to TS and save from TS as .X.

Meki
Petty Officer Third Class
Posts: 11
Joined: 22 May 2009, 14:48
Type the number ten into the box: 0
Contact:

Re: How do you get animated models from Maya to DarkBasicPro?

Post by Meki » 23 Jan 2010, 13:31

If you want to just model in Maya then export obj( it doesn't export with animations) then import obj to Truespace 7.6 rigg and animate then export in .x .

Or you could try fragmotion (free version or registered one is cheep), I don't have maya so i don't know the export types, but with fragmotion you can import most things and export to .x or .dbo (darkbasic object format).

I use Truespace for modeling export in obj, then make textures and normal maps in Zbrush then export back to TS with obj, then rigg animate and export in .x to Dark basic pro. Check out my Rancor =) http://zaphos.me.uk
Image

Meki
Petty Officer Third Class
Posts: 11
Joined: 22 May 2009, 14:48
Type the number ten into the box: 0
Contact:

Re: How do you get animated models from Maya to DarkBasicPro?

Post by Meki » 20 Feb 2010, 18:52

You could also try UU3Dpro it can import FBX and out put dbo
http://www.unwrap3d.com
Image

User avatar
tamtam
Petty Officer First Class
Posts: 43
Joined: 26 Aug 2009, 19:13

Re: How do you get animated models from Maya to DarkBasicPro?

Post by tamtam » 20 Feb 2010, 22:13

How much is UU3Dpro in US dollars?

User avatar
Steinie
Captain
Posts: 2785
Joined: 21 May 2009, 17:38
Type the number ten into the box: 10
Contact:

Re: How do you get animated models from Maya to DarkBasicPro?

Post by Steinie » 20 Feb 2010, 22:49

http://www.unwrap3d.com/u3d/order.aspx" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

User avatar
tamtam
Petty Officer First Class
Posts: 43
Joined: 26 Aug 2009, 19:13

Re: How do you get animated models from Maya to DarkBasicPro?

Post by tamtam » 26 Feb 2010, 21:53

Thanks everyone! I finally got Ultimate Unwrap 3d Pro! It works to convert my models, not only the UV maps. I havn't tested my models in Dark Basic Pro yet though.

Post Reply